We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food and friendly, efficient service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Suan Thai Restaurant

The Suan Thai Restaurant
Tee Court, Romsey SO51 8GY, England
+44 1794 511115
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 66 restaurants in Romsey
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: In the heart of Romsey, the Suan Thai restaurant has been serving authentic Thai cuisine since 1997. Choose from a wide selection of original dishes, prepared by our award-winning chef and served with traditional Thai hospitality. We endeavor to make your dining experience with us one to remember, we don’t implement double sittings, you can stay and will want to all night. If you are celebrating a special occasion let us know (we have been known to embarrass the odd person celebrating a birthday). If you have any special dietary requirements please let us know at the time of booking and we will do our best to accommodate them.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab food and friendly, efficient service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

On my second visit to the restaurant I was yet again truly satisfied with my dining experience! My husband and I do not often eat Thai food so were glad of advice from our friends on the dishes to sample. Each dish was beautifully presented and left taste buds tingling! The service was outstanding all evening, not once did we need to beckon a waitress as they appeared out of nowhere at all the right times, to top up drinks or to clear the table. We were the last group in the restaurant yet the delicate decor and well thought out lighting ensured we still felt cosy and settled. We ended the evening with cocktails that were delicious and planning our next visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suan_Thai, Owner at The Suan Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to the restaurant. Once you arrive at the restaurant your table is yours for the evening, we do not operate double sittings so you are welcome to stay as long as you want. If ever you are not sure what to order please speak to a waitress as they will only be too happy to talk you through the menu. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    38
    23
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Decided to get a takeaway from here as a change to Chinese, Indian etc. The food was still piping hot after driving home and very tasty. Lots of flavour and really enjoyable. My partner likes spicy food but I don't so we chose appropriately and neither of us were disappointed. Looking forward to visiting for a night out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suan_Thai, Owner at The Suan Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you both enjoyed your recent take away and we look forward to seeing you soon for a meal at the restaurant. The menu is very informative and of course the staff are always happy to explain the dishes further if you are unsure what to order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was all very yummy and service great! The price was very reasonable. It was open quite late for convenience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suan_Thai, Owner at The Suan Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your evening at the restaurant and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice...but slightly overpriced, I feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having spent many holidays in various parts of Thailand, and having sampled many different styles and variations of the standard dishes offered over there; the food offered at The Suan Thai in Romsey....was 'average....ok...nice, but not exceptional'. And for that reason...I would add, that it is slightly overpriced....which I have measured in comparison to the quality of food.
The tables are packed quite closely together......as mentioned in other reviews.....which does create a kind of 'canteen' feel.
Having said that, there is quite a pleasant atmosphere and the staff were quite attentive.....but so should they be, as in any eating establishment. One would expect that.
I do feel though...that it would be more effective for this restaurant to be within different premises....perhaps a little more spacious.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suan_Thai, Owner at The Suan Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We strive to serve authentic Thai food to our customers and because of the use of quality ingredients our menu may appear slightly higher than establishments that "buy in" their meals passing them off as home cooked, we are pleased that the majority of our customers continue to return because they appreciate this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First impression of restaurant was that it looked like a canteen. The tables were packed closely together, you could hear the couple's conversation next to you!!. The food I would say was average. The lady that served us was lovely.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suan_Thai, Owner at The Suan Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed by the look of the restaurant. We have have often been praised for the space between tables, so I can only assume you visited us on a busy night when we were full or otherwise you were sat near a slightly noisy table. We do hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Suan Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to The Suan Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suan Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.