We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie to your Saves list
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I booked afternoon tea for a family special occasion my sister in laws 50th birthday, she along with my other guests enjoyed themselves immensely. As before when I have visited The White Horse hotel all the staff were very attentive and friendly, particularly the restaurant manager, and the afternoon tea was yummy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your complimentary review.
Afternoon tea is such a treat - I am so pleased you all enjoyed your time at the hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    104
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
89
127
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The location of the hotel is in central Romsey, which is very
convenient, however there is no hotel car park so you must use
the adjacent public car park, which is a short walk away. Note that
the traffic warden was there at 8:30am putting a ticket on my car
so make sure you buy a ticket the night before to cover you for
the next morning. It would have been useful if the hotel staff had
explained this.

Check-in was efficient, and I was offered assistance to get my bags
to my room. I was a single traveller, but the room was adequate if
not huge. The view was of an adjoining wall about 6ft away, so not
great! My bathroom was down a set of stairs which was unusual and
wouldn’t suit everyone, but it was spacious and well appointed.

I did not eat at the hotel, but I tried a beer in the bar later which
was average. The staff were pleasant but I didn’t get the impression
they were really that interested. Quality of sleep was fine, although
being next to the stairs my room was a little noisy.

Breakfast was excellent, although I was a little annoyed at being
asked to sign the room charge for breakfast half way through
eating. I found the check-out receptionist rather unfriendly, and I
wasn’t asked if I had a good stay.

Overall a nice place to stay but perhaps not up to ‘boutique’
standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.
My apologies that you were not informed about the wardens in Romsey - they are very strict! My receptionists are very aware of this and generally are quick to inform guests.
Being a town centre hotel it is virtually impossible to get a view from every hotel window as I am sure you will appreciate. The bathroom is quite quirky and adds individuality to what is one of our snug doubles. I agree it doesn't suit everyone but we are flexible and when possible would be more than happy to move guests to a more favourable room.
My staff are generally helpful, happy and a delight to work with as pointed out in numerous reviews but they are only human so apologies if you caught them on an off day.
I do hope you will condiser a return visit.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Recently went here for afternoon tea, the sandwiches were good, the cake assortment was not very inspiring with lemon drizzle, chocolate brownie, shortbread and I believe banana cake. All small finger size pieces and no posh little patisseries. We were given a plain scone and a fruit scone and felt that we could have been offered a choice as we only had the choice of one each. We had to go and find somebody to refill the tea pot, didn't find the staff very attentive plus they did not explain anything at all. The room was very cosy but we were cold as we sat by the window where the old fashioned windows were quaint but let in the cold air. Guess for the money it is worth it but overall we were very disappointed after a friend had told us to go there as it was excellent, would recommend you spend a little more and get better service and proper afternoon cakes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
I do believe we have now addressed the issues you had on your initial visit via personal email.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at the White Horse for Christmas 2013 and enjoyed our holiday there. Our room was spacious and well decorated and there was a lovely Christmas hamper of local products left for us to sample. All our meals were delicious although occasionally the portion control "police" had gone overboard. A suggestion for future Christmas guests would be a programme of events to help newcomers find their way about the building and alert them to what was happening.
I appreciate it was Christmas and obviously a very busy time for the hotel but there were occasions when casual visitors to the hotel appeared to take precedence over actual guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Christmas seems an age away now but I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding a programme of events for the Christmas break have been taken on board for future reference.
I can assure you that all our guests are very important to us and it was most certainly not our intention to leave you feeling undervalued.
I do hope you will consider a return visit.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Got recommended by a chef of where was nice to go and this was their number one choice. Lived in the area for a long time and wished I had ears of it earlier! So glad they did as it was exquisite food and a lovely place; would recommend to anyone. 10/10

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you to both yourself for your excellent review and to the 'chef' for recommending us!
Hope to see you more often now you know where we are!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Silver Wedding Anniversary. We went for a cosy meal for two. The service and food could not be faulted. The rice pudding was to die for. I have to type more, but there is nothing more to say. We will be returning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your delightful review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have been here for evening drinks, cocktail evenings and afternoon tea.
It is a lovely setting, outside seating in the courtyard on warmer days is wonderful, and inside the bar area has a good ambiance.
The drinks are rather pricey, but it is a hotel. However, bar snacks seem to be better value.
Afternoon tea is very popular and served in a very old and charming part of the hotel. Fantastic range of cakes and sandwiches, but we did feel two giant scones per person was rather excessive, we would rather of had one less scone each and maybe a few more sandwiches.
But overall, a very special treat that we would do again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your complimentary review.
Afternoon tea is a firm favourite at the hotel. Your comments regarding the scones and sandwiches have been addressed.
We hope you see you again soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.