We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Star Inn to your Saves list
The Star Inn
Horsefair, Romsey SO51 8EZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Romsey B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay at The Star Inn. The room was very large with everything we needed. Sharon, the owner, was very welcoming and served the most wonderful full English breakfast. She even provided the fried bread I had wanted to try but had been unable to find. One afternoon when she heard that we had skipped lunch, she even brought us some of her mother's delicious cake. There was a band in one evening and we spent the entire night singing along and talking with everyone around us. It was like a giant family party into which we were happily adopted. Sharon and The Star Inn gave us wonderful memories of England that we will treasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stockton on tees
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at Star Inn 12th-15th July for a wedding. We knew it was music festival weekend but did not realise some groups were on at Star. That said it did not interfere with our stay, we were left to our own devices able tocome and go whenever we wanted. Breakfast was pleasing. Only downfall is lack of parking, obviously this was wors e due to the festival. Altogether a pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: We had front room 3 large one loads of room with en suite. BUT church bells wake you if you're a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel really is the Star in Romsey's crown. The rooms are comfortable, clean and recently refurbished with free wifi. We stopped in Romsey with the intention of passing through but, we had lunch at the Star, the food and the staff were just so good we decided to stay the night - how glad were we.

The ales are second to none and the atmosphere is welcoming.

If you ever find yourself in this neck of the woods you should check out the Star it was just perfect.

Most highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have stayed a few times in B&B accommodations in Great Britain and so far every time to come to the conclusion: Never again.

Friends invited us back to Romsey after a previous visit to Romsey and recommended Star inn after our last experience few months before in another B&B in Romsey which was not good. I was really reluctant to go back to stay in B&B in Romsey but as we needed to stay one night again in region, we decided to trust our friends recommendation (previous recommendation came from Silk Hotel, which was full and they recommended another B&B as it was supposed to be similar standard. I hope Silk hotels check their recommended B&B as it was the noisiest, most uncomfortable B&B I have ever stayed). Well, what a Positive surprise Star inn turn out to be. It is not a 5 star Hotel, but service was so friendly, and food was good. Brfst was fresh and home made. We needed to leave a bit earlier than their brfst would have started, but there was no problems at all. Two member of staff really made us feel like home.Room was spacious and very clean, bed was comfortable and, Bathroom was clean and everything worked there! I would highly recommend this property to anybody who is looking for decent price Bed and Breakfast in this region. The Pub downstairs (my partner doesn't drink alcohol) was so cosy, that we stayed there few hours talking to very friendly customers. And why I did like this place: It was clean, comfortable and just the proper place to stay. We even stayed for Sunday Lunch and that was great, proper English roasted beef lunch! Thank you, who ever runs this place.My believe in B&B is back!

Room Tip: Cannot remember the room number, but it was with big Double bed, and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: Horsefair, Romsey SO51 8EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.