We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No rapid access to these Rapids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rapids of Romsey

The Rapids of Romsey
Southampton Road | Romsey, Romsey SO51 8AF, England
44 1794 830333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 17 Attractions in Romsey
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No rapid access to these Rapids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived on a busy day and had to wait for an hour before we could gain access to the pools, and then we were only guaranteed an hour and ten minutes of staying in there (which included time for changing). You would expect the entry prices to be adjusted slightly for this.
The whole place was teaming with waiting people and it wasn't very nice. We decided to get everybody changed before we got to the pool area, just to save all of our time for what we came for, fun in the water.
When we finally got in, I realised just why we had to wait so long: the pools were tiny. You would think that in an area where there aren't very many fun pools you would get something bigger than this, but then I'm probably spoiled by having lived in Germany and the Netherlands.
Yes, the water fun entertained the kids for about an hour to an hour and a half but there could be more...
Announcements were very hard to hear and we actually missed our leaving time which we realised when the colour band after us was called up. Well, I didn't care too much.
If I ever go again, it will have to be on an inset day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    29
    21
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Romsey Rapids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A great place to take the kids to let them unwind with its various pools catering from the very young to the experienced swimmers, with a flume, rapid water swirl, Jacuzzi etc. they have special times for adults only dedicated swimmers also. Plus Costa Coffee shop for refreshments after.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“In two years no improvements.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I last reviewed Romsey Rapids in 2012. SInce then it has undergone a "facelift" (new x-10 gym) and revamped sauna area. But in reality it remains tired looking, often over-crowded and often over heated. As a place to bring the kids on wet saturday its fine for an hours entertainment. But by the time you have run the gauntlett of a colour band timed entry system, dirty toilets, dirty floors and queues for the flume-it feels like its time to go home! Come on Test Valley-it needs a real overhaul.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good pool, but can be limited to 1 hour in peak times”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The pool is good, daughter loves the slide. The rapids tend to run 10 minutes on 10 minutes off. Find it a little expensive expecially in peak times when you are limited to only 1 hour in the pool.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Rubbish for adult swimmers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is the only pool i have ever came across that does not offer adult swimming at a descent time. The only time available in the evenings is from 9pm! Really?? Whoever is in charge of the timetable should really think more as there would be so many people who would go for a swim after work at around 6/7 pm. I mean, how many kids can there be at this time and if there are a few surely they can go wild in the feature pool... Anyway, big shame.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rapids of Romsey also viewed

 

Been to The Rapids of Romsey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rapids of Romsey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.