We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel Romsey

The Abbey Hotel Romsey
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Romsey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Abbey Hotel Romsey
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel Romsey to your Saves list
11 Church Street, Romsey, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went there with 5 friends for Sunday lunch on the 9th of June and it seems that it under new ownership but the place was busy doing food but we all had an excellent meal served quickly and by very good and helpful staff.Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
4
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed 1 night for business in April.
Had a single occupency room whcih was £45 including Breakfast, and it was Ok for the price.
The room however was dirty, bathroom grubby, sheets dirty, electrics dodgy, and the room was musty.

Evening meal was reasonable but overpriced.

Girl doing the watressing was gormless, rude, and unkempt.

Would i stay here again......100% no...not even for one night.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed overnight when attending a family party and one night was certainly enough. We were charged £80 for a twin room but on arrival found the room to be filthy- carpets not vaccuumed, cobwebs,dirty tissues on the floor, ripped sheets and towels and the shower was not very nice at all!
I was amazed to find that the lamp was wired to a round pin plug - surely the electrics should be more up to date than that.
Breakfast was standard. All in all, I would not go back nor recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at this Hotel at the weekend as we were attending a wedding and the reception was at the town hall which is just up the road and why we chose to stay here. I booked a family room which cost £115 for 3 of us for the Saturday night. The room was very cramped with a double and single bed all lined up next to each other. The shower was stained and dirty looking and the only toiletries were 2 bars of soap. There weren’t enough towels for 3 people, the beds were hard but from reading other reviews at least the windows opened! We didn't spend too much time in the room to be honest as it was just a place to sleep....ha! Thanks to the church bells that chime every half hour till midnight and the kebab shop 2 doors away...no chance of either an early night or peaceful night’s sleep at this hotel. We had to lie in bed and listen to Southampton football fans chanting songs outside the kebab shop till early hours and then the church bells start again at 9am on a Sunday morning. Never again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfriston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Sometimes it can be uncomfortable to be a single lady traveler, but not at the Abbey Hotel. The location right across from the Abbey, yet in a quiet street, cannot be bettered. The hotel rooms are old-fashioned and well-used, but comfortable (with all the usual facilities), cared for and clean. The bed was a little harder than I am used to. The owner and staff could not have been more friendly, and I felt very well looked after. The pub is a lovely quiet one without music or flashing screens, and when the mobile phone of one of the guests went off, I spotted many a raised eyebrow around the bar. The menu was surprisingly extensive, good plain pub food, at reasonable prices. The Pinot Grigio I had was fresh and cool. After supper I sat in the bar with my tea and a book, completely undisturbed, and feeling quite at home.
In short, in relation to the price charged, it is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Bar area OK - oldy worldy, a locals local feel. Seemed fine. The room was dirty with stained carpets, dust all over, stained headboards, worn through bed linen (clean though), lumpy old beds and a shower that changed from hot to ice when it felt like it. Electrics dodgy as some plugs only intermitently seemed to work and outside our room there was a plug with a loose cover. To cap it all the breakfast was traditional tastless greasy spoon.

the owner gave the air of not giving a stuff - could not possibly be blind to it, just did not care. Our previous 2 nights were in a place costing the same with wonderful staff, fantastic breakfast and very nice clean rooms !

For 80 quid I expected a lot better. Unfortunately there were no alternates that late.

I see a comment for a 'place to crash'... i would add.. only if you have to !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We spent £80 a night for this place, and while we didn't expect the most luxurious accommodations, what greeted us was shocking. A room with stained carpet, a bathroom with stained carpet as well (we couldn't believe our eyes), and a bath, with no shower. A couple bars of soap and no shampoo.
We complained to the owner that for £80 we expected at the very least a shower, let alone a small shampoo bottle. He told us that 'we told you it was ensuite'.......

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel Romsey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel Romsey

Address: 11 Church Street, Romsey, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel Romsey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.