We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annie Jones

Annie Jones
10 Lavant Street, Petersfield, England
01730 262728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 54 Restaurants in Petersfield
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The restaurant, food and service was beautiful! You could easily tell they have very talented passionate chefs. Make sure you book to avoid disappointment!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    19
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We visited Annie Jones for the first time a couple of weeks ago with another couple. I had looked through the rather mixed reviews beforehand, so went along with an open mind. We thought the restaurant had a pleasant ambience and an interesting menu. As several other reviewers have mentioned, it is on the expensive side, but if the food lives up to the price we don't mind. All four of us chose the set-price dinner menu and each chose a different dish. None of us could fault the food on taste or presentation and the waiting staff were helpful and friendly. If I had to be picky, the only criticism I could make is that the food was rather a long time coming, but when it did it was delicious.

We were there on a Tuesday and the restaurant was full by the time we were half-way through our meal, so they are certainly popular. We shall definitely go again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macher, Spain
1 review
“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I took two business colleagues for evening dinner. We didnt have much time as we had trains to catch from Petersfield. The food was lovely and the service impccable & we all caught our due trains. Well done to all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have been to Annie Jones garden bar several times, Great atmosphere, great tapas, great service. A little gem in the middle of town

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Acceptable food, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I went here for a weekend special lunch. We had wanted to come for a while and were waiting for the right occasion. The staff were extremely helpful and polite (we have a young son and daughter who they were very helpful with) and the menu looked great. We were told that our son could have a smaller child portion for the main but that the price would be the same. That was fine by us. What we were not told was that he would pay for two courses regardless of if he only had one. Set menus fine but always good to have some a la carte on there to deal with all eventualities.

The food was good however the pasta was too dry and the portion serving for the fish was not a full fillet from the centre of the fish but rather a thin end fillet. Not acceptable when paying top whack London prices. Very high prices are fine but only if the food justifies the value. This was not the case. Total bill of £125 for 2 starters, 3 mains, 2 glasses of proseco and 2 small glasses of white wine. I would have found this fully priced even at London's better restaurants.

Conclusion. Food was good but price not justified. If bill had come in at around £80 we would be back there tomorrow. But as it currently stands I am afraid we will not be returning. There was only one other table in for the whole lunch period which makes me think others may well have had the same experience as us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie Jones also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to Annie Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie Jones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.