We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable food, but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Annie Jones

Annie Jones
10 Lavant Street, Petersfield, England
01730 262728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 54 Restaurants in Petersfield
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Droxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Acceptable food, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I went here for a weekend special lunch. We had wanted to come for a while and were waiting for the right occasion. The staff were extremely helpful and polite (we have a young son and daughter who they were very helpful with) and the menu looked great. We were told that our son could have a smaller child portion for the main but that the price would be the same. That was fine by us. What we were not told was that he would pay for two courses regardless of if he only had one. Set menus fine but always good to have some a la carte on there to deal with all eventualities.

The food was good however the pasta was too dry and the portion serving for the fish was not a full fillet from the centre of the fish but rather a thin end fillet. Not acceptable when paying top whack London prices. Very high prices are fine but only if the food justifies the value. This was not the case. Total bill of £125 for 2 starters, 3 mains, 2 glasses of proseco and 2 small glasses of white wine. I would have found this fully priced even at London's better restaurants.

Conclusion. Food was good but price not justified. If bill had come in at around £80 we would be back there tomorrow. But as it currently stands I am afraid we will not be returning. There was only one other table in for the whole lunch period which makes me think others may well have had the same experience as us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    19
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Annie Jones has gone from strength to strength. The food is amazing and good portion sizes. The outdoor area is lovely now. Recommended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tempting tapas...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant last night and I have felt compelled to write a review straight away! The surroundings of the garden bar and tapas restaurant are oozing personality, both in decor and atmosphere. I was wearing flip flops (yes, mad I know) but didn't once feel chilly!

The food was just divine, each dish as delicious as the next; we even reordered more than one choice! The service matched this, both with friendliness and attention to detail.

We will be returning, many many times!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a well established local restaurant which we had not visited before. We had lunch. The fixed menu is £14.99 for two courses and £17.99 for three, which presumably is changed from time to time, one of which is vegetarian. We had onion soup and terrine for the first course followed by liver and bacon and fish cakes for the second .All excellently cooked and nicely presented. There is a wine menu which has a variety of choice at reasonable prices. Service was prompt and friendly. In addition to the main dining area there is a tapas bar outside under cover which is open in the evenings. We went midweek without a booking and had to wait for a while for a table to be free, so booking is advised. We will come here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Let down by service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As a bar this place is excellent, a real buzz and great atmosphere, as a restaurant I am not entirely convinced. The service lacked something and that something was quality. We booked as a largish (14) birthday group and on entering the staff initially seemed more intent on chatting to each other rather than serving us. There was no background music which while not essential always adds to the atmosphere in a bar/restaurant, we had to ask for it to be put on. In addition to this it seemed almost a burden to them to set up a separate tab for us from the rest of the table., They did not know what credit cards they took, I had asked prior and was told yes but my American Express was declined. The final straw was when one of the waitresses spilt water on the table ruining a pack of Rizlas and several pre rolled cigarettes with no apology to the person that they belonged to, she shrugged it off jokingly. Final bad part was the mens toilets, they were in a very poor condition with tiles falling off behind the sink and the taps on the sink rotating freely making it impossible to turn on with one hand. The food was very good and I certainly do recommend the slow cooked belly pork and roasted rump of beef. I did find the food to be on the expensive side certainly in comparison to our favourite tapas restaurant (Nicholsons in Portsmouth). The Prawns/Gambas Pil Pil my favourite tapas dish was disappointing it did not resemble any Gambas Pil Pil I had ever eaten in Spain or UK and lacked a certain spicy bite and flavour (price comparison £8 vs £5.25 in Nicholsons). I do recommend this place for the food and atmosphere and would probably have given it a very good if the service had been of a decent level

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie Jones also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to Annie Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie Jones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.