We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service to the table and thats it , the food was ok tho!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Lounge

Spice Lounge
1 The Square, Petersfield, England
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spice Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 56 Restaurants in Petersfield
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“poor service to the table and thats it , the food was ok tho!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Food was just ok and the evening itself was ok apart from the service and the waiting around.Lacking something inside and we as a group of four found there was no atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    7
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and a good curry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Spice Lounge is your typical curry house but the staff are always welcoming, efficient and the food of a good, consistent standard giving value for money. It's the default location for food when meeting up for a night out with other male friends!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiruzPhil, Manager at Spice Lounge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your kind review, it is gratefully received. We are delighted to hear you had a enjoyable visit to the spice Lounge and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards
MO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, a little dissapointed with service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I was booked in a party of 12 and as the person who booked had been before she asked if it was possible to sit in the smaller side room they have, this was agreed. When we arrive they were completely unprepared for us. They said '10 isn't it?' And preceded to clear a table that was full of dirty glasses, in the main part of the restaurant. It took a while to explain we had asked for this side room and eventually they had to ask other people to leave that room so we could go in. We were told we could go through and they continued to set the table around us. From then on I felt service was quite slow, only taking our main order after we had eaten our popadoms, this could have been done first then it could have been cooking while we had our popadoms.
Having said that the food was excellent and I think with a bit of work around service and customer care this restaurant could be perfect!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always very good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I've been coming in here for the last five years and it really is a consistently good curry, backed up with friendly efficient service, and seeing as the last time I came in it was early it made me realise how well this place is managed.

Good luck for the future!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value and very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Four of us enjoyed a lovely curry here this week.They do a special meal deal on Wednesdays.The best poppadoms I've ever had followed by a very good King prawn puri.The chicken Balti superb and the side dishes and rice cooked perfectly.Plates and cutlery nice and clean.We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiruzPhil, Manager at Spice Lounge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear you were satisfied with your visit to the Spice Lounge. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards
Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Lounge also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.