We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Christchurch Road, New Milton BH25 6QS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3 nights for price of 2
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Poole
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had an afternoon tea at the hotel for a birthday treat for my mother, apart from a slight mix up over the booking, the whole event was a pleasure. The venue known to my mother for many years though never visited was all that she had ever imagined it would be, the food was delightful and plentiful, the tea choice was extremely varied and again the pot was never empty for long.
The service here was as you would expect from such a premier hotel, exceptional and always polite even when we gave the waiter a tip he pointed out it was too much and are we sure it was correct, that to me made it worth every penny.
We had the tea in the garden seated area and apart from the bothersome wasps, not a lot can be done about that, the family also enjoyed exploring the grounds before we left. The whole afternoon gave my mother a birthday to remember so please accept our thanks for a superb visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    169
    66
    41
    10
See reviews for
212
520
20
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

From the moment our car pulled up on the gravel driveway at Chewton Glen we were treated to absolute luxury and a level of understated and conscious service that only the British are able to master. Our names were already known to the welcoming staff and porters before we stepped out of the car. We were given a tour of the hotel by our gracious host who was clearly smitten with the place! Our coach house suite was divine complete with a surprise anniversary balloon and card awaiting our arrival. Every meal was an occasion with vistas across the gorgeous grounds. The service was sublime from the kitchen to the service staff to the front of house. The whole building and grounds were presented in such superb condition, every corner had a special detail or historical feature to discover along with croquet, golf, tennis, bike rides, woodland walks, beach walks and the kitchen garden to visit. The spa was amazing and luxurious, but the jewel in the crown was the obvious love & appreciation of Chewton Glen amongst its wonderful staff. A first class experience of English country style. We will definitely be returning as soon as we can!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

For our return visit to CG almost 8 months after our second baby-moon we took our toddler and new arrival. As usual we were given a warm welcome upon our arrival, our car was parked and baggage placed into our treehouse loft suit. All the items I had requested such as bed guard, stair guard, cot was all set up beautifully. They had given the girls lovely soft toys as a welcome gift and our toddler had her very own small bathrobe and slippers. I really appreciated these little touches and gestures. The fridge was well stocked with our favourites! The dinner hamper was just as amazing as before and I can especially recommend the lobster (thai) curry. I am salivating such thinking about it! The breakfast hamper was as incredible as before and all my preferences were included. We ate brekka on the terrace with lovely views. The only slight constructive point I would make is about the bar/terrace service. The staff seemed a little overwhelmed however the lunch was good and arrived quickly as per our request. The bread used for our sandwiches was sliced whereas I would have preferred a thick cut bread however this is a personal preference only. The toddler enjoyed the last afternoon slot of Kids Club and I booked Trisha to babysit our baby for 2 hours. We managed to get an hour of us time in the gym/spa after checking into kids club and with the babysitter. The hydrotherapy and pool were excellent as ever. Next time we visit will be just the two of us perhaps next March... All in all the service, staff and food was first rate and we cannot wait to return again. One could easily spend a week here and not get bored! There was the outdoor heated pool, walk to the beach, kitchen garden, croquet on the lawn and buckets more to do! ~I should just finally mention the lovely and happy cart drivers/porters who drove us from treehouse to spa to hotel etc. They were utterly selfless and invaluable if you have children!

Room Tip: We have only ever stayed in the Treehouse Loft Suites. The hot tub whether day or night is fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

There is nothing wrong with this hotel. They are so organised, the welcome and check-in is so swift and painless - you are in your room in moments. The rooms are finely decorated - their traditional style is a bit chintzy for my liking but they also have rooms decorated in a more 'modern' style - so all tastes are catered for. We just returned to Chewton Glen after over a years absence and have to say that it's still just as impressive the second time round - if not more as we were able to enjoy the outside facilities thanks to some lovely summer weather. It is true that the prices are steep and we certainly have to save up and wait for a special offer before we go, but, on the two occassions we have been, we always walk away felling that it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was here in 2007 summer. The place has a huge land and facilities as tennis courts etc. It was quite a walk to go anywhere but was a great stroll. The rooms were done in the very different taste from the usual city hotels (somewhat country side decors) and gives the warm feeling. Their bar that you will be first welcomed is quite nice as well. The amenities were Molton Brown and they're always good. My husband and I had a spa treatment in the room located right above the courtyard - on that very day, the other guests were having a wedding so during the spa treatment, I had to listen to a lots of young Brits getting wasted (which was kind of funny). Given that this place is called "spa", I was expecting the real great massage - but both my husband and I was not super satisfied with the quality of the massage. I remember that they had a nice steam sauna though.
I do not have much memory about the dinner but the lunch on the following day was at the Vetiver (wine room) and was just amazing. The atmosphere, the setting, the food, the selection of wines were all great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

50th wedding anniversary afternoon tea.
Taken to Chewton Glen by family had a very enjoyable afternoon
the tea was excellent.
The hotel has the highest standards and the staff very helpful
It is rather expensive but for that special occasion very worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent a wonderful wkend in the treehouse stilt rooms in early August.
Jacizzi on the balcony, choc buttons to make your hot choc & delightful room service in a pinic basket through a private hatch. Relaxing, romantic and private....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Address: Christchurch Road, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.