We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Day included Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course to your Saves list
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Guildford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spa Day included Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited for my birthday for a Spa Day with family members. It was a lovely SPA but the swimming area is not adjacent to the treatment area. A recommendation is to book a treatment towards the end of the day so you can spend the morning in the pool area. I went twice in one week and both times something was broken in the SPA which was disappointing. Especially the second time I raved about the hot tub and then it was not working. A lot of people were in the SPA at the weekend, so I recommend a week day visit - and the weekend SPA is more expensive than the week day too. Lunch is included and is a 2 course meal - suggest the dinner and dessert as starters are not particularly exciting. The vegetarian option was absolutely lovely. Very good value for money - especially in the week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    168
    123
    83
    75
See reviews for
85
190
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My friend and I booked an overnight spa deal in the eco pods directly through the Old Thorns website. They were very helpful when booking and even more helpful when we were there. We stayed last Thursday and got full use of the facilities, two course dinner, over night accommodation and a 25 minute spa treatment for £75 each! When we arrived we went and settled into our eco pods, we were a bit sceptical about the "glamping" but it was great! The heater made the room nice and warm, the beds were really comfy and clean, and got given lots of nice clean towels. That afternoon we used the spa facilities, all facilities were really lovely and relaxing. That night we had the two course dinner which was great as well, again we were sceptical how nice it would be as it was a buffet style help yourself carvery, but it was all fresh and delicious! Beware though, it's not all you can eat and you're only allowed one plate/bowl of food for each course, so fill your plate! The next morning we breakfast which again was fresh and great, you never had any food sitting for a long time, it was always constantly refreshed and replenished with just cooked eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, hash browns, mushrooms and much more, yummy! We then had our treatments and I chose the back, shoulder and neck massage which was a bit firm to begin with, but she asked what the pressure was like and I said a bit firm, and after that it was perfect. All in all it was a great day and night and I'd definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Beware if you stay in the Eco-pods....althought the pods are kind of cool, the toilet and shower facilities are appalling. They are in a portacabin which is not cleaned regularly and there is only 2 for 12 pods!!!! And to access them you have to climb a grassy muddy bank. The managers solution is to traipse all the way up to use the hotel facilities. Not ideal at 4am when you need the loo!!! Also be careful if you book for 3 to share the sofa bed does not fully extend without rearranging the furniture.

Sports bar, service slow and food cold..... Not great.

However, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The spa and treatments were fab. Breakfast buffet was lovely. This is why it is getting 3 star overall, otherwise it wold be a 1 star.

Room Tip: Book the hotel, not Eco pods
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The spa is outstanding but the hotel is disappointing. Not all staff are able to understand or communicate in English and this impacts on the quality of service. Misunderstandings in food and drink orders do not leave the customer thinking they are important. Management of dinner and breakfast seating reminds one of being at school - telling customers off is not appropriate or pleasant to observe.
Food is ok with breakfast better than dinner. Couldn't fault the range and quality of desserts. At breakfast the coffee was awful, tea was weak and hot chocolate wasn't stirred at all so the powder sat unattractively on the top.
The facilities and rooms are very clean. Bathroom plumbing made an awful noise at 6am and only ceased when I put the plug in the sink. Lighting in the room was sparse.
As a 'girls night in' package the spa component was outstanding but the accommodation experience would not encourage me to return.

Room Tip: Put the plug in the sink at bedtime to stop the 6am plumbing gurggles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Old Thorns has all the facilities to make for a great break away. We stayed in the hampshire suite which was spacious and had good facilities. It was a little disappointing that the TV didnt work properly as the signal continuously broke up - we asked reception to report it but this didnt get resolved and as the weather was pretty poor and the rugby was on this was frustrating. The rooms and bathrooms are great along with the furnishings and view across the course. We stayed on a package deal which is great value although expect some tight restrictions on the menu choice - as long as you like a carvery then you will be ok! The Spa and the gym are brilliant, the gym has a great range of equipment and the spa has a lovely pool and relaxation area. The treatment area in the Spa is lovely and I can recommend the massage treatment!! The golf course was closed due to weather for one of the days which was a shame that said the course is challenging and worth playing. The hotel is big and it caters for a lot of parties - this can be problematic, there were 3 weddings during the time that we stayed and one of our group staying in the main hotel and to move rooms due to the noise in the bars and reception into the early hours of the morning. There were also a lot of disturbances from various hen parties and wedding guests returning to suites/pods which disrupted everyones sleep. The resturant was chaotic in the morning due to the volume of guests having breakfast - the queue was very long and there was only 1 toaster operating which made the situation worse. The team who work in the restuarant are friendly and were keen to help during all of our meals. Overall I would recommend the spa, the gym and the rooms, but the noise and customer service in the resort was sometimes below expectation.

Room Tip: dont have a room near the bars or reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lovely time had. Nice surroundings and options of places to go. Spa was lovely and very clean. Great gym and fab sized pool. Some dire service and cold food in sports bar, but kings carvery very good and champagne bar great. Only one toilet in ladies changing room for pool and gym which was odd and can't get water easily. No water fountains in gym or spa area so bring your own....madness! Back massage was great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a typical complex aimed at the corporate market while seeking to deliver a personal touch, it fails.
The gym and spa are excellent with more than enough equipment to ensure you are not waiting around as you complete your circuit, the pool area is also very good and spacious.
This complex markets itself as a golf resort which it clearly is however the course floods so easily that it closed after only 2 days of rain. The pro needs a lesson in customer service as he simply never smiles or makes eye contact suggesting that unhappy golf ears that had booked a weekend break needed to contact the booking company and offering no kind of alternative suggestion.
The food is well below the expected for this type of hotel offering mass catering quality which simply cannot be described as value for money.
While the complex has clearly had substantial renovation our room had paint peeling from the shower ceiling, a tile missing in the toilet while water backed up in both the sink and shower.
Would we return NO
Would I book a golf break certainly not outside the months of July and August.

Room Tip: Ensure there are no maintenance works, try to book a room in the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 400 acres of Hampshire countryside the Old Thorns Manor Hotel in Hampshire is the ideal place to explore the region. With our Peter Alliss designed golf course golfers and non golfers alike enjoy the rolling green landscape along with state of the art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.