We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two excellent functions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Fox Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Black Fox Inn
Portsmouth Rd, Liphook, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 16 Restaurants in Liphook
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Liphook
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two excellent functions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have had occasion to organise two functions at the Black Fox in the last two weeks; one for 27 of my colleagues for my retirement dinner and the other, for 30 people, for the annual Swaziland Society Lunch. This is the 19th year that we have had our lunch at the Black Fox and the quality and originality of the food for both my functions was outstanding and good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    0
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Home Made Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a friendly pub with linen on the tables, we always have a good meal in there and the price is very fair. It also has a bowling alley.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Extradinarily good pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The black fox inn is a very welcoming pub and the owner alan is very friendly and the people who work there are amazing and are hard working, the pub is spotless! Decoration suits it well. It is a classic pub, an all round lovably pub, food is superb, very tasty and i especially like the steak. Everything is at a suitable price, very cheap for the quality if i say so! 11/10 rating! Superb! Im suprised with the negative reviews they are all wrong!! I actually disagree with them! Keep up the good work!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

For the price we paid we were very disappointed. The double room was small and cramped with all the space taken up by an enormous wardrobe which meant there was no room to place anything. The only available space was taken up by the tv. The en-suite was a small shower room which Travelodge would have been proud of. Whilst the room was clean the carpet had obviously seen better days. The evening meal was good but breakfast consisted of 2 rashers of bacon, a sausage and a fried egg. There was no cereal. fruit, yoghurts etc, or choice of breakfast. For an overnight stay this may all be perfectly adequate but not at the prices they charge and not compared to other far better B&Bs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner, and B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I needed an overnight stay in Liphook and found this little gem. To previous negative reviewers I would ask that they perhaps think about the enormous commitment in terms of working hours that publicans give. I hope they make a decent living out of it, I know I couldn't cope with the always-on-duty smile giving. So yes, 'mine host' may not be dancing on the tables for the entertainment of his customers, but he is perfectly civil and his wife is nicely friendly without intruding. I enjoyed meeting some of their regular customers too as I chose to dine in the bar rather than sit in the restaurant. All round a good overnight stay and the food is lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Fox Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Black Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.