We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollycombe Steam Collection

Hollycombe Steam Collection
Iron Hill, Liphook GU30 7LP, England
01428 724 900‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Liphook
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Brockham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to the fairground at night last weekend. This was very well attended but no long ques and pushing. Everyone looked to be having a great time. Suitable for all ages. All included in the enterance price. and free pass to return daytime for a year. It really was the sights and the sounds on the fair. It was lovely seeing all the volunteers polishing and cleaning. All very proud. This is a must. It is run by volunteers and again rely on us visiting and having a good time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    4
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Unique historic steam fair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited twice this year with an annual ticket.
The equipment is heritage steam powered with punch card organ music (not some teen band) blaring out. Clearly the staff are dedicated in keeping this all running.
The kiln railway is great - about a half hour trip.
The Razzle Dazzle is a unique ride. Brilliant!
The cafe is a bit basic and greasy. Could do with an overhaul of what is does/supplies. Have a look at what decent high street cafes do.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“no matter your age you will love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Visited today and wow what a find. Steam run traditional fairground rides, trains, tractor engines, mini ride on trains, haunted house and much more.
Food was good not expensive and with indoor and outdoor areas to rest. Clean facilities and a shop to browse. We loved it here and will return with our FREE pass. Great fun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very good value as once you have purchased a ticket you can return for free for a year, a few weekends are excluded but not many, great time to be had at Hollycombe, rides are run by steam and there is a good selection of rides, the big wheel and the razzle dazzle being our favourites, the razzle dazzle is the worlds first white knuckle ride! Good café which is not too expensive and train rides as well, once you paid your admission all the rides are included in the price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family outing for 3 generations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We decided to visit Hollycombe as we were looking for a day out to suit 3 generations. Grandad loves steam trains and we thought the combination of all steam engines for him and steam rides for the kids (ages 7 and 9) would fit the bill - we were not disappointed. We ate in the cafe and the 6 of us had lunch and drinks for c£41 (including 2 kids meals). Reasonable food - not huge portions but value for money. All generations went on many of the rides - we didn't have to queue, went on some rides a couple of times and didn't get to go on some as it was such a relaxed atmosphere, with plenty to look at that we ran out of time. We went on the 2ft gauge railway twice - great views from the top and experienced a couple of things we hadn't before - the razzle dazzle ride - only one existing in the world and the fairground cinema - we watched a Laurel and Hardy film (different film each hour) with live organ music and a little introduction and history from the organist. As previous reviewers have said, all staff are volunteers and enthusiastic and friendly, always willing to give you some background to the ride if you ask. Entrance worked out as £40 for a family of 4 and being able to visit free for a year it incredible value - we'll definitely be back and telling our friends about it too! i totally agree with a previous reviewer and therefore will repeat what they said - Thorpe Park it is not but a fantastic interactive museum it is! Thank you to all the volunteers who made it a day out to remember!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollycombe Steam Collection also viewed

 

Been to Hollycombe Steam Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollycombe Steam Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.