We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steam funfair in lovely surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollycombe Steam Collection

Hollycombe Steam Collection
Iron Hill, Liphook GU30 7LP, England
01428 724 900‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Liphook
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Steam funfair in lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

While a great places to visit daytime - the funfair really comes to life in their open evenings, be transported back in time with the sights, smells and rides from Edwardian England. Most rides included in entry, good traditional cafe and shop.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    6
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“lovely family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We took my 3 yr old nephew here as an alternative family day out . It was a sunday and most of the rides at the fair were in operation along with a steam train , a miniature railway and a traction engine ride .
I thought the prices were very reasonable indeed considering that there were no additional charges for rides and there was no limit to the number of rides . My Nephew would probably have spent all day on the little vintage cars given half a chance!
I liked the fact that there was almost a replica "childrens" version to all the adult rides. What topped off the day was the commitment and friendliness of all the volunteers who run the site . I would even praise the food . ( basic but filling and well cooked and not expensive which makes a chnage from most theme parks/ country fairs etc)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a fantastic time at the steam collection. Wonderful steam engines, lovingly restored and cared for by the friendly volunteers at the site. And, the children only had to queue for at least a minute. We visited twice in three days. Cafe food was perfect, although you can take a picnic if you wish. Make sure that you check the opening times and visiting on the weekend meant more rides were open during the week.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We checked out this place on the website before travelling and it looked really good. We thought it may be a nice idea to visit at the Easter weekend. When we arrived mid morning the place looked almost shut and the fair wasn't in operation. We also noticed some of the engines were under tarpalin. We decided to turn around and visit Petworth House and Gardens instead which seemed much better value for money rather than paying the £15 entry fee for the steam fair.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Used to do better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Hollycombe is a unique attraction. Educative and highly enjoyable with beautiful gardens, steam engines and fairgound rides, albeit vintage ones. (And none the worse for that.) I have visited on many occasions over tha past decade and more. My children absolutely loved it when they were growing up and we went today at their request. Despite the considerable investment on a new visitor centre, shop, cafe and entrance I feel Hollycombe has taken its eye off the ball. I can accept that the "star ride" the Razzle Dazzle needed to be repaired and is thus out of action as mentioned on their website along with the Steam Swings. However, two of the main traction engines were also not working along with the full gauge railway, the shooting gallery, the water wheel and beam engine and the bioscope. The helter skelter seems to have disappeared completely. Since this is no longer a cheap day out I feel they need to concentrate more on making sure that most of the exhibits are in working order.
Also, unlike other attractions such as Fishbourne Roman Villa, Hollycombe charges extra if you want your admission price to be gift aided. (Which enables them to claim 25% back from the government) Fishbourne for contrast charges the same price whether you gift aid or not and, as an inducement to sign up, offers a year's free repeat admission.
Hollycombe is still a great day out. (My now 20 + kids still loved it) but it could do better.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollycombe Steam Collection also viewed

 

Been to Hollycombe Steam Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollycombe Steam Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.