We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel & The Dragon

Bel & The Dragon
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bel & The Dragon to your Saves list
Bel & The Dragon
100 - 102 High Street, Hook RG29 1LP, England (Formerly The George Hotel & Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hook B&B and Inns
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was down in the Farnborough area with business and needed somewhere to stay. All the usual hotels (Village, Aviator, Macdonald) were all ridiculously expensive, so i looked at other options in the local area. Well all i can say is that I am delighted this was the case, or i would not have found the Bel & The Dragon!!

This place is fantastic. Lovely bar area, extremely clean and well presented rooms and a beautiful dining/breakfast area. I only managed to have time for breakfast and this was excellent too. I literally have nothing bad to say and can only highly recommend staying here.

As and when i am in the area again, the Bel will be at the top of my list!!

Room Tip: Albert Room faces the street and unfortunately is therefore close to the 7am street bin collection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Family stay in two rooms at the back of the hotel (across rear courtyard), rooms were modern but still a traditional feel, very well decorated, came complete with gin, a coffee machine and lovely soaps/ lotions in bathroom - little things but still great. Best of all were the beds which we all agreed was best nights sleep we've had in a hotel! Breakfast was very good. Great place for a nights stay. Didn't stay in main part of hotel but was old and quaint if you are after that feel..

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a restaurant review only

Wow , just had lunch here for a business meeting, I can honestly say this place is exceptionally good, couldn't fault the place. the sucking pig was awesome. All 5 of us felt it was a real breath of fresh air!

Kaz the Head chef is one to watch out for.

10/10

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just spent the weekend at this brilliant hotel in Odiham. The room was spacious and very well furnished and the en suite very modern. Lovely touches like a complimentary bottle of sloe gin in the room ( very nice !!). The bars are great with a smashing range of real ales and cocktails and breakfast was served in a different way without resorting to buffets going cold. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We have just celebrated our Golden Wedding Anniversary at the Bel and the Dragon, and what an occasion! Way back in November we enquired of the possibility, and from the word 'go' Alex and the Staff went out of their way to be helpful. We booked six rooms for our family to stay, this included the family room, with bunk beds for two of the grandchildren, and a Z bed for our young grandson in our room. The whole family was delighted with the accommodation which had been renovated to a very high standard, with huge beds and fabulous bathrooms. Brilliant showers!
We all met up for pre-dinner drinks in the 'Snug' and then moved into a private room for the meal. Little vases of flowers had been placed on the table which the family quickly supplemented with balloons and a banner, it looked very festive. We had all chosen from the Party Menu in advance and everything went smoothly. The food was delicious and plentiful, so with wine, then champagne,a beautiful cake, and much chatter and laughter the evening was a great success, topped by a presentation from the chef of a decorated plate with tiramisu and candles! The bottles of whiskey on the landing were greatly appreciated, as was the Sloe Gin or Vodka in each room!
Next morning we all met up for a good breakfast before setting off for home. We look forward to coming for dinner again soon.
A big 'thank you' to Alex, Matt, Mike, Sophie and Harriet (and of course the chef!)for making it so special.

Roy and Clare

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I had another excellent stay in a Bel and the Dragon room. This was my first night at the Odiham Bel and the Dragon and Alex the manager was very helpful and welcoming. I will be staying here in the future and recommend it to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

I stayed at Bel and the Dragon with a number of colleagues last week. This won't be the last time! Helpful and attentive staff giving friendly, informal and professional service. Great room with a genuinely individual feel and books I either already owned, or wanted to read! After that excellent start, a really first-class dinner and a delicious breakfast. All at a very reasonable price. I guess I stay in hotels nearly every week, and this place is on my list now; if I'm working within 20 or so miles, I'll be trying to book in for the night, and I'll persuade my wife to come too. Somewhere to look forward to.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Address: 100 - 102 High Street, Hook RG29 1LP, England (Formerly The George Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel & The Dragon Odiham offers ten beautifully appointed bedrooms styled exclusively in Bel & The Dragon's distinctive cosy and classic manner by interior designer Nicola Harding. Think crisp linens, soothing earthy and natural shades and stylishly original decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel & The Dragon Hook, UK - Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel & The Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.