We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rubbish” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bel & The Dragon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bel & The Dragon to your Saves list
Bel & The Dragon
100 - 102 High Street, Hook RG29 1LP, England (Formerly The George Hotel & Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hook B&B and Inns
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

From first entering the hotel i didnt recieve a good start, checking in the owner seemed very rude and was more interested in observing converstions between the staff than attending to his customers. I found the food fairly average some nights it seemed better than others, the waiting staff were particuly pleasant and even in a busy restaurant the two girls seemed to manage things very calmly.
Overall i found this stay fairly average but i would not recommend this hotel to my closest friends, unless as a last resort.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the owners
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    9
    7
    11
See reviews for
3
17
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

Spent one night at the George while on business. The hotel is really old and has a bit of charm. Had an excellent meal in their restaurant and the hotel bar is really nice. I found the staff friendly and welcoming and my room was quiet and good. They also now have wifi in the rooms. After a few nights in overpriced London hotels this was a pleasant change!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

Stayed overnight at the George following visit to Twickenham. Found the staff welcoming and friendly. Yes it was creaky & you could hear the occasional door shut but this is a 15th century coach house with character and it was quieter than many modern hotels I've stayed at. Hotel has restaurant and bistro (next door). Saturday night in Bistro was busy, staff friendly, service was good, as was food (including breakfast in main restaurant). Price was little above average but worth it. Room was clean and a good size. Would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Character
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santilo1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Shabby room, poor bathroom, tired, noisy. Tatty. Food good but service slow. Overall prices expensive for what you get. Wouldn't go back. Grumpy owner . Nice village

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shabby
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

I had the pleasure of stopping at the George while away on business. I stayed for 2 nights and this nice 'olde worlde' style of hotel was quite adequate for my needs. The hotel is in keeping with the rest of Odiham village and the nearby RAF Station was not any bother what so ever. The room was nice with a good suitable en-suite facility. The breakfast served in the fairly spacious dinning room was good and plentyful. On both evenings I ate next door in the hotels cafe bar. The food was very good and the wine list was certainly more than enough to serve many a palate. I would, for any body passing through the area, suggest they look at the George for accomodation.

  • Liked — The cafe bar owned by the hotel next door.
  • Disliked — The steep stairs up to my room.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
451 helpful votes 451 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

Booked the 15th Century George after struggling to find anywhere in Basingstoke that had availability, or wasn't ridiculously high in price.

After seeking advice on the Basingstoke forums this looked the best option, and by golly it was - and only fifteen minutes or less from Basingstoke itself. Perfectly located in a pleasant town with plenty of good restaurants, though its own restaurant was excellent, it was good to have a few places to choose from in the town too.

There was ample car parking, a nice bar and friendly staff. One note of caution though for anyone who suffers from allergies - the pillows were of the feather variety, though I'm sure they could provide an alternative if you asked at booking.

I'm so glad to have discovered this place that I am reluctant to share it, but then thats what Tripadvisor is all about. Just don't tell anyone else!

  • Liked — It was convenient for Basingstoke, but a much more pleasant option location-wise than many Basinstoke hotels
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

I stayed at this rather nice hotel located in the pleasant village of Odiham for just one night. It was a business trip which was just as well as it was fairly expensive - £90 B&B for a single room (although to be fair, it was the going rate for an area just a couple of miles from J5 of the M3 and 25 miles from Heathrow). My room was in the Annex, just a short walk across the car park from the main hotel. The small room was nicely decorated and reasonably well fitted out. WIFI access was available at cost. There were no recreational facilities other than the bar, expensive specialist seafood restaurant (cheapest starter was £6.50), cafe-bar-bistro, a couple of small function rooms and a patio area. It seemed to cater more for the business traveller, but as is normal for such places, room prices dropped at weekends (single room £65). There were some other restaurants nearby, all equally as expensive – however, the one I tried was excellent (thanks Boss!). There was ample parking, although the slot I used had a couple of broken bottles laying in it which was disappointing. Breakfast was good, although service was a little slow. Staff were very polite and friendly. The place didn’t seem suitable for young families or the disabled. A pleasant hotel with a good atmosphere, I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Surprsingly quiet, well equiped, good parking.
  • Disliked — Narrow stairs in the Annex. Blankets, not quilts.
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose a weekend if the boss isn't paying
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Address: 100 - 102 High Street, Hook RG29 1LP, England (Formerly The George Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel & The Dragon Odiham offers ten beautifully appointed bedrooms styled exclusively in Bel & The Dragon's distinctive cosy and classic manner by interior designer Nicola Harding. Think crisp linens, soothing earthy and natural shades and stylishly original decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel & The Dragon Hook, UK - Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel & The Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.