We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bistro, but PLEASE get rid of the bathroom carpets!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bel & The Dragon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bel & The Dragon to your Saves list
Bel & The Dragon
100 - 102 High Street, Hook RG29 1LP, England (Formerly The George Hotel & Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hook B&B and Inns
kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent bistro, but PLEASE get rid of the bathroom carpets!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the George for one night on the way to visit friends. The location is great, and the newly opened bistro 'Next Door' is excellent with great food and service. The rooms are a disappointment though, very dated and I didn't think anyone still had carpet in bathrooms. I booked the hotel as we had to find a place that accepted dogs and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. I'm hoping they will get round to refurbishing the rooms and throwing out the hideous carpets, and those awful wall mounted ineffective hair dryers. Sound proofing between the rooms could be improved too. Book it for the location and food, but take slippers and a hair dryer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    9
    7
    11
See reviews for
3
17
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had visited the George in the past but not for well over a year. Often we meet family or friends travelling from the South West as it's conveniently near the M3.

On this occasion I had tried to find a place for a quiet lunch with my wife who's in hospital recovering from a stroke but allowed out on day trips.

We were outside looking at the Menu when a waitress asked if we wanted to come in. On saying that we did, she disappeared to return a few moments later with a ramp as the entrance has a couple of steep steps and my wife was in her wheelchair.

Two kind guests who were drinking outside in the sunshine leapt to their feet and assisted us to get in. We were given a table in the Restaurant which was, initially, fairly uncrowded but filled up later.

We both chose the same starter, mozarella and tomato at £5.25. There were generous portions of good mozarella, and the pesto and salad leaf accompaniment were delicious. We did think that the 3 small slices of tomato were a bit of a let down - but that's a small criticism.

For our main courses I ordered char-grilled chicken with mediterranean vegetables - it also came with a side salad and I ordered an extra portion of new potatoes. The chicken was moist and had plenty of flavour and the portion of potatoes was generous. My wife had the mushroom and courgette risotto which was a good size and very tasty. Other diners seemed to like the sandwich and soup option and the all-day breakfast.

Our food was promptly served and it had plenty of flavour and was well cooked. There were various options available including specials and traditional roast lunch. Vegetarian options and a variety of light bites meant there was something to satisfy most tastes.

With a couple of bottles of sparkling water and a tip our bill came to just over £40 - so quite good value. We left the George via the rear access as that was better for wheelchairs and there was a proper concrete ramp.

Will we visit again? We probably will; it was at least as good as the last time we ate there so that's a good sign. Plus points are the good selection of options and tasty food. Service was good and there was plenty of space at the table. At lunch times it's not fine dining but matches most home cooking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very comfortable stay at this hotel , nice breakfast.Helpful staff...They in the process of updating the hotel we only had breakfast so cannot comment on the restaurant. if in the area again we would go back....

Room Tip: Stayed at the back by the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Checkin was haphazard. Room was large and well equipped but dated and old. Bed was Not comfortable. Having seen other reviews avoided hotel for dinner, this looked a good choice when we saw how busy the staff looked with a half empty restaurant. Breakfast was included, it was neither good nor bad but was made with cheap ingredients. Service over breakfast was friendly, but with one waitress and seven tables the service was low and not great. For a one night need to stay fine, for a break I would stay elsewhere.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Have stayed on many occasions, both in the main hotel and one of the rooms in outhouses. The rooms in the hotel tend to be tatty and dated. One I stayed in in the gatehouse smelt very strongly of smoke. The food in the bistro OK and reasonably priced, but the restaurant in the main building is a waste of space since its always empty and looks like a 1980s throwback. The bar in the bistro is always full of regulars so getting served can be difficult. And the waitresses are very keen to get your order, so having a quiet drink beforehand is next to impossible. One time the only way I could get some peace was to say I wasn't eating and go across the road to the chinese leter. Breakfast was good, but service was slow and I have had to go into the kitchen to get someone's attention.

I don't hurry back, but go there when I get a good deal.

[Ignore the fitness centre score, it hasn't got one and I couldn't unset it when I pressed it by mistake]

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed one night because we were at a wedding in the area. Our rooms were ready and we arrived early.The rooms were clean and comfortable.The bathrooms had shower cap,bar of soap,showergel/bubble bath,shampoo and conditioner the bathroom was in good working order clean but a little dated in style. The breakfast was very good we also had lunch in there bistro attached and that was good and well organised.We would stay here again all the staff we met were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here for 2*1 week stays only because of location and lack of any other hotels. I won't be going back. Food is poor, wifi does not work so don't bother paying for it, heating did not work in the middle of winter and shower was busted. If you want a drink at the bar, be prepared to wait until the receptionist had finished all her other jobs and then her conversations with other friends. Above all, seems that these smaller hotels think they can treat their customers like dirt.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Address: 100 - 102 High Street, Hook RG29 1LP, England (Formerly The George Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel & The Dragon Odiham offers ten beautifully appointed bedrooms styled exclusively in Bel & The Dragon's distinctive cosy and classic manner by interior designer Nicola Harding. Think crisp linens, soothing earthy and natural shades and stylishly original decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel & The Dragon Hook, UK - Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel & The Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.