We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real authentic flavours of Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tatiya Thai Orchid Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tatiya Thai Orchid Restaurant
10 East Street, Havant PO9 1AQ, England
02392 480 020
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Real authentic flavours of Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The best Thai restaurant I have visited outside of Thailand.
Highly recommend this restuarant for authentic Thai food, try to choose more traditional Thai dishes than standard Asian fare, my husband had the satay which was OK, whereas all the other dishes we had were amazing. My soup was wonderful, as was the beef and chicken dishes that we chose for our mains.
Friendly and helpful staff. Recommended to my sister who visited two weeks later and they thoroughly enjoyed their meal too.
TOP TIP - They do NOT accept credit cards, take along cash with you. Although there is a bank a couple of doors down if you forget.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Eating Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I went to the restaurant in a group of 9 people. How refreshing to find attentive staff, brilliant tasting food and lovely surroundings all in one restaurant. The food we ordered had the most amazing tastes and textures, full of flavour, you can tell the food is cooked from fresh ingredients, the beef in the curry was melt in the mouth. All of my colleagues agreed that this is a restaurant to be visited again.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb food, served with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Having just been on a two week trip to Thailand my girlfriend and I were begining to miss the excellent food we'd had whilst out there, so we had a look around and decided on Tatiya.

We could NOT have made a better choice. A cosy, quiet, restaurant. The food was top draw, and instantly brought back memories of our superb holiday. Friendly staff served us our food with a warm smile and encouraging words for our poor attempts at speaking Thai.

Highly recommended !

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprised at the amazing reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were both looking forward to trying out this Thai place due to the great reviews. Ordered green curry and beef with cashew nut. Both lacked the flavours that we were expecting. The beef was quite bland while the green curry was split (the coconut had separated from the rest of the sauce so it was lumpy). We also ordered the chicken satay which came with a delicious peanut sauce but the chicken itself was dry. I don't know if they had an off night but in the end, we will not be coming back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai food in havant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We are very lucky to have such a lovely thai restaurant in Havant. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the food was as they state traditional and home made. we were a table of six and enjoyed it so much we have booked again.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatiya Thai Orchid Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatiya Thai Orchid Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.