We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flaming Orange” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prince of Wales

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Prince of Wales
77 Reading Road South, Fleet GU52 7SY, England
01252 614284
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 55 Restaurants in Fleet
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Flaming Orange”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Previously a nice local pub with indoor skittle alley ( circa 1990) Now part of the Flaming Ember empire. Painted bright tacky orange so you can't miss it. Pleasant garden. Inside is nicely laid out. Too many sports TV screens and event nights to be really relaxing. Food very poor. Cold. Undercooked and no great choice for vegetarians. Everything is deep fried. Staff at bar are good, less so in the kitchen. Pleasant place for a drink in the garden in summer but would not recommend it for anything more. I am a local and would not use it unless there were no other options. It's like a Weatherspoons without the reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear GabrielleBurnie, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, Flaming Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    4
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very dissapointing!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal with my husband and little girl, all seemed well to start with, lots of people dining, prices good.

Ordered chicken wing challenge to start, wings were very cold when they arrived. My husband had mixed grill for his main that he upgraded to.king size and I king sized my turf, turf and cluck, when they arrived they were just standard size so had to be sent to kitchen for the extra food to be added. Food came back 10 mins later, my husbands was fine but mine far from it, chicken breasts had dried out and when I got to my steak I couldn`t believe my eyes! It was thinner than Tesco value frying steak! It was supposed to be an 8oz rump steak, well I have never seen a rump that thin before. I complained to staff and was told that the steak shrinks when it is served on a skillet and also as I had asked for it cooked medium they give you a smaller steak, erm hello I paid for 8ozs of rump!!! Never heard anything so ridiculous, after some debating I did get a refund on my meal but will not be eating there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Sorry - but the food was rubbish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having eaten in a wide range of Wetherspoon establishments across the country I have always found the food to be of a reasonable consistent quality, and very enjoyable. Not sure if it was the time of day, or the fact that it was busy but with very few staff, the meals we had were quite honestly rubbish. The chicken was cold and very dry even with a sticky BBQ sauce tipped over it. Very sorry but this one is not up to the same standards as others we have used.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal tonight with my husband he had fish I had steak the steak was good but his fish was hard he sent it back by the time he got it back I was nearly finished and his fish and chips were hot and nice peas were cold after ten mins the waitress came over he told her that the peas were cold and she look and walk away and went to another girl and they both laugh the a little bit later came and cleared the plates away she lent over and never asked if we were finished and pick the plates up with not a word said very rude will never go back in on the 11th feb 6 o'clock table 26 very poor customer service I am going to write to company staff need training

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Horrifying unfriendly place with microwaved food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Most shocking pub i have been into in years. Food is so manufactured it makes mcDonalds taste organic and home made the burger tasted of plastic. Its full of football fan types who read the sun who swear in every other sentence. Not family friendly. And there was a horrid smell of sick.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince of Wales also viewed

 

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince of Wales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.