We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rustic food in a country pub location. good ales too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Foresters Pub and Restuarant

The Foresters Pub and Restuarant
Aldershot Road, Fleet GU52 9EP, England
01252 616503
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 56 Restaurants in Fleet
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice rustic food in a country pub location. good ales too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I've been here more times than I can remember both just for drinks / snacks and for evening meals and lunches.
99% of the time the food has been excellent and the other 1% its been good!
The menu whilst not huge has some good sized portions of various things on it with the Kobe beef burger being one of my favourites
I've never had an issue with the staff or service. sometimes the drinks have been a little slow to arrive but this is probably down to the fact its also a popular place for people to pop into for a drink so the bar is split between serving them and the people in the restaurant.
Its not the cheapest place to eat but i've never felt i've been overcharged for the amount i've had to eat ! can't comment on wine prices as don't tend to drink wine but beer / ales have always been reasonable priced.
there is a nice cosy and rustic atmosphere inside with a log fire often burning in the restaurant.
Will definitely be going again soon

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    51
    28
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“over rated rubbish!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

went for lunch with my wife and another couple, food was terrible, expensive, and dont get me started on the service.....i have no inclination to go to this terrible pub again!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012 via mobile

I love this pub. The real countryside yet gastro feel to it, the menu, the garden in the summer where they provide blankets for when it gets chilly, and the food is amazing. The portions are just ok - not as generous as they could given the price- it is nice to leave a restaurant feeling beaten and able to eat no more which cannot be said here. However the staff are amazing. And customer service is what keeps people going back - friendly, willing and on your side. Nothing is too much to ask and I hope it stays this good. Definitely go to the Forresters, it's just great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

This place has so much potential. The staff were good and helpful, there was a good selection of booze and it's a nice location/ setting BUT the food had the appearance and taste that hints that it's not cooked on site from fresh. The food seems bland as a result and therefore disappionting. That's a real shame because with better food, this place would be a real gem.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Logging out of The Foresters.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Overpriced, with a vastly inflated idea of its own worth, to judge from the full-of-BS menu.

Four of us went - once. Never again. They couldn't even do a decent bangers and mash for £10.95. All four of us noted that our meals were sadly lacking in vegetables, but, while pricey, mostly consisted of potatoes.(For example, the fish pie.)

The sausages, weirdly named and none too nice, were characterised by skins so tough they were hard to chew.

I think £2.50 for a tomato juice is way too high, but this was nothing compared to the near £16 price of a bottle of average house wine.

The staff were nice enough but local people look to have given their verdict on this rip-off palace: the place was half empty on a Friday night. There was plenty of parking, though.....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foresters Pub and Restuarant also viewed

 
Fleet, Hampshire
 

Been to The Foresters Pub and Restuarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foresters Pub and Restuarant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.