We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always here! Love the food ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crab and Anchor

Crab and Anchor
Links Way, Farnborough GU14 0NA, England
+44 1252 378388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 78 Restaurants in Farnborough
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always here! Love the food ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Amazing food! Fair prices. I have recommended and all my friends now eat here regularly too!
I recommend the supreme chicken and bacon with mags and veg :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    63
    23
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The seafood is excellent. The service was average, I would say that one member of staff in particular is out of this scale, which is a brasilian guy very frindly. But overall a nice meal out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Got taken here by family and we weren't disappointed. The choice from the menu was plentiful.
The portions were quite big and the service was efficient and pleasant. Booking is advised as it can be very busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Watch the drinks prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have visited the Ctrab and Anchor several times since it changed ownership a few yaera ago. The food is always excellent and always reaches the table whilst still hot (this might sound basic, but so many restaurants cannot achieve this).

The staff are very friendly but can be overrun on very busy nights, such as Friday and Saturday evenings which can be manic.

It can get very noisy, to the point that it can be difficult to taklto others at the table. The floors are bare wood floor and it is a fairly enclosed space, so there is nothing to absorb noises. They get a lot of large groups in, who naturally make a lot of noise as they are probably out to celebrate something (and good luck to them!). Just don’t come here for a quiet meal for two!

Drinks prices are very high; for instance I paid £4.80 for a pint of draught lager, which is excessive for the area! Take this into account when checking prices on the menu as even a few drinks will make a significant difference to the overall cost and the bill might be a lot higher than you expected.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Owner at Crab and Anchor, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
HI. Many thanks for your comments.

However, I would like to point out that our standard pints are around £1 cheaper than you have quoted. The only drink for that price is draught Peroni which is a premium product and is about the same price as other restaurants locally where it is sold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Big appetite meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I visited the Crab and Anchor with my boy friend a few weeks ago. We sat on a nice table in the corner near a window.

The service was average, i would say that one member of staff in particular needed to add a smile, which would help her customer service levels dramatically. But overall a nice meal out.

The food seemed quite expensive at first but i was persuaded and whne it arrived you can see why the prices are what they are, the portions aren't for the light hearted but the food tasted great and definately filled the rather large hole in my stomach. You would't leave here still hungry, thats for sure.

When we were asked to see the dessert board, there's me expecting a small (ish) board to be placed onto the table...... but no...... along comes this lady with a desserts board so big that she placed it on a chair she had pulled up from the table next to us. Most if not all of the desserts sounded amazing but i could only eat one (this time) :)

Overall a great evening out with great food and nearly great service
I will return for obvious reasons but may need to starve myself before hand, i don't want to put on too much weight now... do it :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab and Anchor also viewed

Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Farnborough, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Crab and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab and Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.