We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crab and Anchor

Crab and Anchor
Southwood Village Centre | Links Way, Farnborough GU14 0NA, England
+44 1252 378388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Farnborough
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The food was excellent! It was like sitting in a pub on any night of the week. The service was efficient and cheerful enough, they did what they had to do!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    81
    27
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fleet
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our 3rd visit here,Staff are always very friendly and nothing seems to much trouble for them..Which a lot of pubs lack these days...Food each time as been very nice and large portions.I am vegetarian and i like the fact there are different things on the menu,leek mushroom pie,veggie korma both very nice..around £8/10. meat eaters had burgers and the liver which all said where nice..we have not had puddings.Too full....
Atmosphere in the place i would say is ok,if you are a non smoker like us......then the only downfall is the outside sitting area is full of smokers! boooooooo..easy parking,menu seems a bit to large though..like a book.......Handsome waiters here...candles on tables,nice coffee selection.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good food, let down by an underwhelming atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This establishment offers a good selection of food on its menu, but on all three occasions I have visited have felt let down by an "average" pub/restaurant type atmosphere. It's an OK place to eat, but there are better in the Farnborough area (in my opinion).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ok but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I went here for lunch, we were shown to our table promptly. The menu choice was too much in my opinion, after reading it felt so confused. Ended up picking something off the sunday fixed cost menu. I opted for the chicken roast and my hubby went for the seafood platter. My meal was good, but was a bit shocked with my husbands meal as I expected to see prawns, mussels etc, but what arrived was breaded fish like scampi and squid. This was not what he expected, however, it tasted good but not really what he imagined it to be.
The price was reasonable, but don't think i will be in a hurry to go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Really good restaurant / bar. Strangely located behind a morrisons and hidden away but friendly staff, good food, good value and well worth a look over the summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab and Anchor also viewed

Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 

Been to Crab and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab and Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.