We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Cosy Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tilly Shilling, Farnborough

The Tilly Shilling, Farnborough
Victoria Road, Farnborough, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 75 restaurants in Farnborough
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relaxed Cosy Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Three of us called into the Tily Shilling Wetherspoons pub which has only been open for a couple of years its located right next door to a Travel Lodge. The inside décor was very good with nice seating arrangements and a cosy fire at one end although we only called in for a couple of bottles of wine the staff were very friendly and polite. The House wine was good quality for the very cheap price of £6.
No matter where we go in the UK we always eat and drink in wetherspoons they just seem to get it right.

Laurie and Linda Unstead. from Tenerife Canary Islands. 26.10.2013

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    8
    15
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Till Shilling pub is such good value for money and a really lovely Wetherspoons and we have been to a few. The food is not bad only once not enjoyed our meal. We have eaten there many times. Staff are always very nice. Still to try the breakfast which has been recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Have eaten in the Tilly a few times with friends not always the best food but good value for money. This place never seems to be empty its always lively. Good for a cheap lunch or a few drinks with Friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great place for a good value night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Staff polite and helpful, good selection of beers and ales, food great value, never had a bad steak here. Nice and clean for a Witherspoon's, feels more like a country pub. We eat here on a regular basis, and enjoy the pub. Last Xmas had a party for 13 people, special table laid out for us, brilliant 3 course turkey dinner with free drink all for £13 will be doing it again this year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The tilly shilling is a lovely wetherspoons pub. Nice fixtures and fittings and very clean. Unfortunately there is a serious staffing problem. This was only our second visit to this pub, but on both occasions there was only one member of staff doing everything. Taking orders and serving at the bar, waitressing, and clearing & cleaning tables. It is impossible to provide good service if there is not enough people working. Despite the lack of staff, theTilly Shilling is a nice place to visit. A great selection of ales and( as always) good food at a reasonable price. We will definitely visit again but I hope they sort the staffing problem out

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tilly Shilling, Farnborough also viewed

Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 

Been to The Tilly Shilling, Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tilly Shilling, Farnborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.