We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, lovely friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Farnborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Farnborough to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Farnborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lynchford Road, Farnborough GU14 6AZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“great value, lovely friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting Legoland 20th august. We had two rooms as we have a large family, the lady at reception was most helpful upon arrival and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome with our family. The rooms were clean and tidy. Breakfast well what can I say it was fresh and lots of it. We have five children and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, Making sure we could all sit together clearing the table and topping up our drinks. I would like to thank all the staff for making my whole family feel very welcome and we will most definitely stay again and recommend to friends Brilliant service

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Head, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Lucygee2013

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Farnborough.

The team and I were all so pleased with your review as not only is it helpful for future travellers choose where to stay, but also a great way for our staff to be recognised for the great service they provide.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Robert Head
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    161
    77
    32
    12
See reviews for
103
73
22
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights on the 22nd and 23rd August whilst visiting Legoland. Whilst a longer drive from Legoland than the closer Heathrow hotels we weren't disappointed and worth it for the free car parking, Kids Eat Free deal, full breakfast included and use of the Leisure Club. It's worth noting that the trip to Legoland from the hotel doesn't require a trip through Windsor so timing wise probably comparable to staying at Heathrow. Our family of 4 had an executive room with a sofa bed for the two boys. The room was clean and comfortable. The bar meal on the first night was good although a little slow in being delivered. This was soon rectified when brought to the Bar Manager's attention. Staff were very pleasent with nothing too much of a problem. The breakfast was great value with the kids especially enjoying the pancake maker. With a late check out we made full use of the Leisure club on our last morning.
In summary a good hotel for families who are visiting Legoland and local attractions.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Head, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Paul B

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and service to meet your expectations. Thank you also for providing a great recommendation for those wanting to visit Lego Land.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Robert Head
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A strange experience. Lots of minorish issues, that were just annoying and gave me the impression that this was a most unprofessional hotel. So I spoke with the management and sorted things out. In fact, the Duty Manager at check-out was excellent and is a credit to IHG.

Generally speaking the food is good (a couple of minor issues) but breakfast is very good; room service was fine.

Rooms are poor. Very noisy and somewhat tired. You can hear people in the next room clearly and the door to the corridor may as well not be there from a noise perspective.

But, if you're IHG loyal and staying in Farnborough, it's the only choice.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear ebookpunkie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate your compliments on our food and room service.

On the other hand, I sincerely apologize for the noise challenges you had and for the dissatisfaction you had with our rooms.

Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and rest assured that actions will be taken to ensure our guests continue to enjoy superlative levels of service, comfort & security that they expect when staying at our hotel. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here on special Legoland package last week 6th to 10th, even though I am a Priority Club member (Come on PC, how come I can get better deals outside of PC, even though I didn't get points). 25 minute drive from Legoland and Thorpe Park, but worth the drive. Hotel is in perfect location, good clean modern hotel and friendly staff. Great beds and pillows as expected from Holiday Inn. Room was spotless. Stayed in Holiday Inn in Slough following this to be closer to London, but would prefer this hotel by miles. Only downside was the team working from Friday morning last 9th and 10th, was not as good as the previous days team, (which were way more efficient and provided a much better breakfast service) coffee mugs dirty, tables not cleaned fast enough, had to get my own coffee. Need a bit more training on customer service. Chief was great and friendly everyday. Food was excellent every day. Pancake machine alone was worth the stay :-). Well done HI Farnborough.

Room Tip: Ask for non connected rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Head, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Seetheworldandlearn

Thank you for the time taken to review us on Tripadvisor. Feedback of all kinds is incredibly important to us as strive to constantly improve.

I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and compared us favourably to other hotels in the area.

I have also noted your comments with regards to the breakfast team and will feed this back to the relevant department so that incident such as this can be prevented for future guests.

Many thanks once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Robert Head
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

On arrival we were told that despite booking for a double room we were in fact booked into a twin room. I felt quite frustrated at first but soon realised that nothing we said was going to alter this.
The room was fine, a little small perhaps but catered to all our needs for our overnight stay. Clean, comfortable beds, nice bathroom, relatively quiet despite a main road nearby and it was air conditioned.
We very much enjoyed the spa area and felt it was a huge bonus as we had purely booked for a place to rest our heads after a friends 40th party. We paid £36, so, for this price we had very little to complain about. We didn't eat so cannot comment regarding the food.
We would stay here again but we would most definitely contact the hotel beforehand to confirm that we were booked into a double room and not a twin.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel beforehand to check you have the room you have booked for
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Head, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Kaykissyco,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor, feedback of all kinds is incredibly important to us.

I would like to extend my apologies that the room booked was not provided, I was however pleased to see you found the room to be clean and cater for all your needs.
It's good to see you took advantage of our spa, I'm sure it was the perfect relaxation after a 40th Birthday celebration.

Many thanks once again for your feedback, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest regards

Robert Head
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of the Legoland mini break package and as many people were looking for the best possible price. The hotel was easy to find and i was surprised with how nice it was. Having never stayed in a Holiday Inn before i didnt really know what to expect and will definetley reccomend. The room was a very good size with a bathroom that was bigger than my flat!! The restaurant was a little expensive but you expect that, and with free kids meals and not having to search for anywhere it made it worth it for us. Breakfast was lovely, only complaint is that with the volume of guests they could refill the pastries and pancake machine more frequently. The pool is a good size, but be aware that it is unmanned. Our room wasnt made during the day but they did replenish the towels... apart from that it was thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Head, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear queenextreme,

Thank you for so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear the hotel surprised you and it was nicer than expected.

I've fed back your comments to the restaurant team regarding the pastries and pancakes, and am sure they will take this on board and ensure refilled more frequently.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Robert Head
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

It wasnt what we expect for a holiday inn! It was better! We paid £51 for a double room on a friday night in a central location, the hotel was lovely inside and out and the rooms had everything we needed. Hotel bar was abit pricey (£10 for a double spirit & mixer) but you expect that in hotels generally. Didnt get a chance to use the pool which we were abit gutted as it looked lovely! Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Head, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Danni 2911,

Thank you for your review, the team and I were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and it was better than expected.

Your comments regarding the bar prices have been fed back to our Food & Beverage operations team.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon, be sure to take advantage of our special offers on your next visit, you may even get the opportunity to use the leisure facilities.

Kind regards

Robert Head
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Farnborough

Address: Lynchford Road, Farnborough GU14 6AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Farnborough 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Hampshire/Surrey border with easy access to the M3/M25, the Holiday Inn Farnborough is a great choice for a weekend break for visiting Birdworld, Legoland, Thorpe Park, Chessington World of Adventures, Wisley Gardens and Aldershot Military Museum.The hotel is within walking distance of FIVE, the South of England's new premier conference venue, the Farnborough Air Show and the Aldershot Army Show, and is two miles from Rushmoor Arena, which hosts the annual South of England Tempest Rally among other events.This Farnborough hotel offers guests comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms, with high-speed Internet access and full use of the Spirit Health Club with its pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and well-equipped gym. Our newly refurbished restaurant offers varied menus with daily specials and themed menus once a week, and light bites are served in the lounge. Kids stay & eat free.*We take pride in delivering an efficient, friendly service for conferences, private parties and weddings. Our 10 meeting rooms offer scope for flexible programmes and events for up to 180 delegates/guests.See the hotel's package page for special overnight packages, hotel offers and our monthly theme/tribute nights.*Terms & conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Farnborough Hotel Farnborough
Farnborough Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Farnborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.