We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished or not at all !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Falcon Hotel to your Saves list
Falcon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6TH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
darlington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Refurbished or not at all !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Looks good on the web site, but if you haven't asked for a refurbished room what you see is certainly not what you will get ! Paid for 2 nights but only stayed the one.
I had a small room with a single bed tucked up against the wall. There was a small tv in the corner that wasn't tuned in properly. There was all he makings for a cup of tea or coffee, unfortunately the little white bowl that held the sugar and coffee sachets had on some occasion held used tea bags and hadn't been washed out.
The carpet hadn't been cleaned properly and i found a large earring on the floor with my foot !! When i went to plug in my phone charger next to the bed i was greeted by a broken wall socket that was unusable and dangerous.
The shower turned on full was no way good enough with a poor output and the temperature constantly changing from hot to cold.

Breakfast was very basic, there was only full fat milk available for the cereals, but after letting the staff know that there was a shop just down the road that sold semi-skimmed a jug of it appeared.... full marks for taking the hint. Beware of the choice of sausage and bacon because it is one or the other your not allowed to have both? toast is also one slice only.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. Expect to be disappointed at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
22
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Lovely hotel, great decor and furnishings, could do with a real duvet instead of sheet and blanket. great location, breakfast could be a bit more breakfasty! bit i guess thats the south for you...
would recommend and would stay again.
not happy about them not taking the money from my bank account for almost a week causing me to then have a bank charge. quicker banking needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Ok. Further to the bulk of the reviews, there are issues here, but nothing that isn't bearable. I thought the staff were very friendly, and breakfast more than adequate. The hotel, though admittedly more like a B&B, provided a comfortable bed in clean surroundings, and that's what I paid for.
I really didn't pay much.

It is, however, very warm. Two fans and it was still sweltering, and it was a challenge seeing the small tv through the beads building on my eyelids. Again though, for the price paid I wasn't expecting luxury or a premium air conditioning system, and what I did get exceeded my expectations. The room was spacious, acceptably furnished and the bathroom was clean and well stocked.

Internet access at £9.50 for 24 hours is inexcusable and definitely one thing that needs addressing, but all in all, it was a pleasant enough stay and I'd be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I can not thank and praise the staff at the Falcon enough.
We held our wedding reception here in May 2011 and our day ran without a hitch. Darius and his staff did a wonderful job, the food was excellent, The price was really good, the dj that Darius organised was brillant. Im just full of praise.
The bar staff did a great job to keep my 100+ guests served with drinks. Nothing was too much trouble for them. If you asked them to do anything they sorted it straight away.
All of our guests had an amazing day and thought the hotel was lovely, the decoration was very modern and fresh, my guests were very happy with their rooms, some of them had referbished rooms which were all very nice and some had the older rooms, which were also comfy and clean, just not as modern, but no complaints.
The breakfast in the morning was also very tasty, just enough :)
I honestly dont think that that a big chain hotel could of provided us with a day as nice as the Falcon did. I can not recommend this hotel enough. If the team managed to make our day perfect then im sure they will do the same for you. Enjoy your visit. we will definatly be recommending the hotel to friends and family and look forward to returning for our anniversary next year. In the mean time im sure we will be going to the landings resturant for something to eat which im sure will be just as nice . A big thank you again. Sorry its taken me so long to review.
Mr&Mrs B

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

really a glorified b&b and not a hotel
staff had no interest in you being there, and not even a have a good bye or thank you on checkout

would not recommend to any business colleagues stayin in this area

rooms are very poor for price and before i'm told i could have asked for refurbished room, i wasn't offered one...
unfurnished room poor, with tiny tv, that i didn't even bother turning on, and a bathroom that i had to stand into before i could shut the door to get to the sink...

this is the 1st time i ever done a trip adviser rating, so it shows how poor it was!

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Below is the discription of what this hotel has to offer ...... But is it what you get ?

"The Falcon Hotel is a three-star, AA and VisitBritian accredited, 30 bedroom boutique hotel located in Farnborough, Hampshire across from the TAG London Farnborough Airport. Landings at The Falcon Hotel is the hotel's fine-dining restaurant featuring Modern European cuisine in a contemporary dining room. The hotel features a lobby bar, wireless internet access, airport views, room service, and meeting facilities"

The wireless internet cost £9.00 or more for 24hrs !!!!!!!! that is what i pay for a month.
On arrival was greated buy a lady at reception who was quite pleasant yet im not to sure she was happ about been there on a Sunday afternoon. I had traveled up from Warrington my day starting in Addlestone, working round a couple of stores doing repairs so by the end of the day i wanted a shower ( bathroom in room as small a shoe box and shower that cant make up its mind if it is hot or cold!), when i checked in I asked where i could get a drink the lady said across the road is a pub ! But yet they have a bar there in the hotel !,
Once showered and cleaned up I went out to meet some friends who live local ...thank goodness for that ( not a cheap area £3.50 pint of fosters pub accross road.)

When i got back at hotel I was greated to one staff member who spoke broken english, another who was having a pint! mmmm In the morning went down for breakfast again met by staff members who spoke broken english, I ordered two sausages and two fried eggs and toast ....... what do i get two eggs and one sauage and toast???????????? huh oh never mind .... had to ask for pepper twice!!!!

The room is large with a small tv which you have to turn all the way up to hear it and very warm to warm in the summer i think windows dont open that much and if they are you can hear the airport !!!!

All in all

Never again ! I rather sleep in a tent on the runway!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spl_publicrelations, Public Relations Manager at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Hello. It's terrible to hear that you would rather sleep in a tent! Our new deluxe bedrooms have been refurbished to a high standard that you would have enjoyed much better. In regards to the internet service, it's provided by The Cloud and is reasonably priced compared to other hotels. The infrastructure to provide reliable wireless access throughout an entire hotel is very hard thing to do, and therefore the system is provided by a third-party and costs more than you would pay at home. I've spoken with the receptionist and she assumed you saw the bar, as you passed the lobby, so let you know of the pub across the street. I'm sure there was a misunderstanding in the kitchen with your breakfast and I apologise for that. We employ people from many different countries, but all staff members speak an intermediate level of English, as it is one of our requirements of employment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The first room I was allocated was on the ground floor looking out onto a dark and dingy passageway. The decor was dark, putting the lights on made it feel even darker and more depressing. The remote for the old CRT TV was missing and most of the advertised channels were missing.

I complained to the receptionist and she gave me a new room - 1st floor at the front of the hotel, newly refurbished, light, airy, comfortable, new TV with more channels (although I still couldn't find the advertised Sky Sports channels).. It seems odd that they would give anyone the basement rooms when the new ones are available. Even with the new room it's really not what I understand to be a "boutique hotel" as they style themselves.

Breakfast was fine although the service was somewhat slow.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spl_publicrelations, Public Relations Manager at Falcon Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Hello! I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our standard rooms (which are awaiting refurbishment) are connected to a 4-channel SKY system, whereas our new flat-screen televisions in our deluxe rooms are on a 100+ channel Freeview system; the Sky Sports channels are somewhere in the 200+ range, but should have been noted in the room information book. I will follow-up on this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Address: 68 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Farnborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.