We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelzoo lunch and swim” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Farnborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Farnborough to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Farnborough
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Farnborough Business Park | Pinehurst Road, Farnborough GU14 7BF, England (Formerly De Vere Village Farnborough)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Slough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Travelzoo lunch and swim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I visited the hotel twice during May 2014 using a Travelzoo lunch and swim voucher.

Both visits were lovely. Amazing lunches from a specific Travelzoo menu and the leisure facilities are excellent. The gym is huge.

Excellent value for money. Hope the offer comes up again soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    135
    100
    41
    24
See reviews for
66
93
19
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a work management evening here recently and stayed in an upper deck room. Really impressed with the room, it was large, the bed very comfortable, great bathroom and loved the Starbucks station! The food in the chop house was pretty decent and surroundings pleasant. Only downside was the bar closed very early forcing you to pay the higher room service rates - not ideal especially as we were a group of 10 plus wanting to have a drink together, not in our rooms. All in all though, excellent value.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was a good hotel with good facilities for the disabled and a much better room than many higher rated hotels. If you use this hotel you might want to take a topper as the bed felt good but perhaps a little firm. The only shock was late one evening when my wife went to get some bottled water from the bar and was charged £6 for it. After that we ate and drank at a nearby local which offered much better value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Be amazed that there are 48 disabled parking bays at the front of this Hotel. But be aware,this is a revenue raising scam by Hart Council. £100.00 parking fine ! I do not advocate people using the disabled slots, but come on, 48 is ridiculous.
Hotel is definitely for the under 30's with fat wallets, £7.50 for a single gin and tonic and a soda water. £4.20 for a pint of lager !
Food was ok ish in an ok ish sort of way, especially if you are under 30.
The kids were having a great time though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I've stayed here before and had been impressed by the comfortable rooms, reasonable food and friendly staff on reception. This time was no exception and we also used the gym/spa (both very good if a little worn) and bar. The latter being not so good. We arrived back around 10pm on Saturday to find the bar rammed to the point of being unpleasant, eventually got served with our extremely overpriced and lukewarm drinks and then had to sit out in the hotel reception. The atmosphere wasn't good and I couldn't help but think this wouldn't be a hotel to bring children to. The Gents loos said it all - vommit on the floor and people clearly using illegal substances. It's a real shame because this was and should be a nice comfortable hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed for one night but would stay for more if in the area. Right from check-in to check-out all the staff were helpful and very courteous. The room (302) was a good size and very comfortable, the only problem was the standard lamp in the corner wouldn't work but this was a minor inconvenience. The restaurant had very comfortable chairs and a good menu, well cooked and presented. The waitress (Sophie) that served us was a credit to the hotel. Breakfast was 'functional', not bad but could be better. We did not use the swimming pool but it did look O.K. & we might try it if we stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is adjacent to the Farnborough Aerodrome and also quite near family.
There are plenty of disabled parking bays near to the level entry doors. The room was a good size - sufficient for a good sized mobility scooter to be placed at the foot of the bed without inhibiting walking round the bed. This hotel had a notice in the lift saying they provided Sealy mattresses. We have had quite a few uncomfortable nights in some other hotels and often bring a topper with us. This was the best night's sleep my husband has had in a hotel!
We did have a problem with a lot of leaking water from the walk in shower attachment which due to the weekend(we arrived Saturday afternoon) could not be fixed until Monday morning.

On arrival at the leisure facilities we asked if there was a disabled changing room. This is located in the same area as the family changing - but is a separate cubicle with a shower - but there was a problem with the shower. It did not seem possible to reduce the water pressure and it was also cold! We reported this to the management and hope this will be fixed.
The pool was quite large with 2 swimming lanes and a more informal area to the left. Generally my husband does not use a jacuzzi due to the steps up/down to access it. He was delighted to be able to swim up to one of the jacuzzis which was part of the large pool. The sauna and steam rooms were at the side of the pool and level entry - so also easily accessible.
The staff are pleasant and happy to assist at breakfast with carrying plates or assisting at the buffet.

The worst experiencee we had at this hotel was buying a large bottle of water from the bar on our first evening. It cost £6!!! which is £2 more than a pint of most lagers served there! Based on this shock we decided to walk/scooter to the local pub/family restaurant (the Gloster) for both our evening meal and drinks.
Overall this was a good hotel for mobility challenged people and would be our first choice if visiting Farnborough again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Farnborough

Address: Farnborough Business Park | Pinehurst Road, Farnborough GU14 7BF, England (Formerly De Vere Village Farnborough)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Farnborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Farnborough is located just off the M3 motorway, only 1 mile from Farnborough Airport and Rail Station and just 38 minutes to London Waterloo by train. It is also close to the M25 and M4. Nearby attractions include Windsor Castle, Legoland and Thorpe Park. Village Urban Resort Farnborough has 123 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Farnborough Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Farnborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.