We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but poor breakfast service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aviator Hotel to your Saves list
Aviator Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but poor breakfast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel, decor is excellent right from the entrance to the rooms. Rooms are a nice size and very comfortable, as well as being well equipped and good range of complimentary films and music.
Only let down was breakfast. The food was good however the service and organisation quite poor. They seemed incapable of keeping fast moving items (sausage & bacon) topped up regularly, instead they ran out leaving a 5 minute wait for more to come out. Only seemed to be scrambled eggs on offer, staff did not offer any alternative however if you asked they would do fried or poached, but it was a slow service.
Shame that such a great hotel is let down by breakfast service

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    203
    70
    28
    20
See reviews for
46
375
20
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for close to three weeks. For the most part, I was impressed with the staff, the service and the facilities. The room was comfortable, well-furnished and well-equipped, though I found it a little surprising that, for the rates charged, there is no mini-bar, or at least an in-room refrigerator which is useful if you like to keep cold drinks handy. The hotel supplies a small bottle of water and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I quite liked the in-room entertainment; lots of channels on the TV and on-demand movies and music. The restaurant is a bit pricey and often heavily-booked at dinner time though the quality of the food is very good. My one complaint was that the standard of service offered during breakfast varied significantly from day to day, with the staff often seeming overwhelmed if the restaurant was busy. If you occupy a recently-vacated table, it often takes the staff ages to clean it, replenish cutlery, cups, milk, butter, sugar etc. and they often forget to offer tea or coffee. The selection on the breakfast buffet however is very impressive with lots of variety.
Overall, I liked the hotel and would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here with the loop the loop package, db&b and flying lesson thrown in.
Upgraded to a lovely suite with views over the airfield (if you're into plane spotting). the food and drink was really impressive and we managed to pick a F1 night with lots of celebs floating around.

Cannot fault it, had a really special experience - great for a boyf/girlf who wants a slightly out the ordinary treat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for business. The room was spacious and well equipped, bed was comfortable. Good gym equipment, but no pool. Restaurant was popular, with an attractive menu. Overall a very comfortable stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a real gem in the middle of an uninspiring part of town. If you like to be seen in certain locations then I would advise this should be one of them. I really enjoyed the snack menu and the cocktails were imaginative but far too expensive per ml for Farnborough. I have paid a lot less on the King's Road.

Great venue though and you must check the sunset times in the Summer to ensure the best view over the airfield.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My partner treated me to an evening at the Brasserie Restaurant, the building is beautiful and i was looking forward to the evening as its not cheap. On our arrival we were shown to the table promptly and our order was taken immediately. The whole experience we were told would take two and a half hours for three courses, well we have been served drinks the started and the main and we had only been sitting their for an hour. We were rushed into ordering, we were trying to have a conversation and just kept being interrupted by the waitress who kept filling up water and asking if everything was ok! At one point we were talking and had not finished the starters, ( I had goats cheese and a marmite dressing, which I might add does not go together at all and the goats cheese was cold in places and warm in others) the waitress came and asked if she could take the plates away and we told her we hadn't finished yet! within ten minutes of the starter plates being taken away the main course came. Again i had risotto which was very gluppy and heavy, half was through Iw as stuffed. Again the plates were taken away and at precisely an hour since we walked through the door the desert menu came..Oh my god at this point I was getting so annoyed what with the constant interruptions and the speed of the orders.After telling the waitress if she could give us some more time we decided to leave desert and head home for a coffee and some peace. My partner spoke to the manager afterwards and was told that next time we should ask the waitress to space the courses, which I found unacceptable, a good waiter/waitress would know the timings and keep an eye on what is going on and relate this back to the kitchen, its not like we turned up at 10.00pm for a three course meal...It was just so rushed and impersonal..over the top babying on the service, I can pour my own water, thank you! Constant interruptions do not make this a nice place for a romantic evening..more corporate focused and for people that like being waited on hand and foot and of course people in a rush!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was recently at a show in Farnborough and managed to secure a suite in the Aviator. Although my booking conformation gave me the impression I would be overlooking the runway the suite I was given overlooked the road. The suite was immaculate with an adequate seating area large enough to hold a meeting in. The Bathroom had a large bath separate of a walk-in shower. My suite was turned down every evening and even included two tea lights which i thought was a nice touch. Breakfast however was a diffident matter it was completely disorganised. getting a cup of coffee took several requests and never delivered the right amount. Toast was hit and miss and we often gave up waiting. the Buffet would run out of item of food and drink and take time to get refilled. I only tried out the evening restaurant once and with 4 of my colleagues. the food was excellent as far as quality went but portion sizes where questionable. Unless you ordered a steak the meal put in front of you was fine dinning but left you hungry when sitting next to someone tucking into a large steak and chips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aviator Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.