We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a bit special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aviator Hotel to your Saves list
Aviator Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Something a bit special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Farnborough - a strange place to find such a gem! Beautiful modern design building in keeping with the aerospace industry so close to hand. We went there for a lunch in the brasserie and the food was superb with friendly efficient service. The interior design matches the stunning exterior wirth some marvellous design touches. the hotel is owned by TAG who also own Mercedes McLaren so that explains the attention to detail. We did not stay in a room but I can safely assume they are to the same high standard - a must visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    180
    65
    24
    19
See reviews for
38
303
19
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Ended up here by chance: we had arranged to meet for a meal with some friends, who suggested the Aviator. We don't like driving after a boozy dinner, and the Aviator was offering a "Savour" package of 5-course tasting menu dinner, + room and breakfast, for £275 per couple.
First impression is of a post-modern office block, but the unusual design seems to work for rooms, restaurant and bar. On arrival, the room we were allocated smelt strongly of drains, but reception switched us to another room nearby with no trouble. (A request later for an ice-bucket and glasses was forgotten for half-an-hour, however.) The food was extremely good; however, we passed up the option of different wine with each course (for a hefty surcharge) and opted for a couple of bottles instead. The bar was nice, but when the publicity extols the skill of the "mixologists", you expect something special: we found all the cocktails a bit underwhelming (especially the weak caipirinha), particularly at £9.50 a glass. Finally, we had to wait half-an-hour to be served our final drink: admittedly it was a busy Saturday night, but how much simpler it would have been to order drinks ourselves at a walk-up bar.
Breakfast was good if not exceptional.

Room Tip: Ask for airport side: much nicer, and you can fantasise that it could be you taking off in one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel on a regular basis for the last two years. The rooms are quiet, comfortable, well maintained, and have excellent complimentary tv/movie entertainment.

The star of the show is the Brasserie which has continually improved to the point where my last meal was better than I've experienced at a couple of Michelen starred restaurants. Fantastic flavour and texture combinations, quality ingredients, reasonably priced. I think it's now my favourite hotel restaurant, a view obviously shared by lots of locals who pack the place out at the weekends.

Can't wait to get back there!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The aviator is a diamond in an unexpected place. Myself and partner have been to the aviator quite a few times, just for drinks, for meals and a beautiful champagne taster evening and stayed in one of their suites. The food is always exceptional, the staff can't do enough for you and the room was of outstanding quality.

Fabulous and looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This building is very modern and is based around the theme of an airport as it is basically in the grounds of farnborough airport. Our room looked out on stunning views of the airport and you could see the small planes taking off. Apparently the building is designed in the shape of a propellor and the centre of each floor is a venue to meet for occasions like wedding receptions, parties etc. the rooms are either side of this in clean fresh corridors We went for a friends wedding reception and the staircase down the centre made for beautiful photos and made an elegant entrance to the hotel. The hotel was beautifully clean and decor up to date and all looked new. When enter the lifts they have leather effect walls and what appears to be an aeroplane window showing clouds passing by on a tv screen giving you a great effect. Rooms were well provided with gown, slippers, hairdryer, towels, soaps etc. bed was very large and faced a large screen tv mounted on the wall which had a fantastic range of free channels that I have not experienced before. Staff were helpful and I would recommend. The only down side was the breakfast. There was only a small pat of butter for four of us and people were borrowing from each others tables. No knifes to spread butter. Took ages to get toast, coffees and teas when requested and was not automatically offered when arrived for breakfast. The breakfast itself was self service and the continental spread was good but the full English did not offer a lot of choice and lots had run out and we had not arrived late by any means. The black pudding was served in the same container as the tomatoes which was horrid as meat juices were smothering the tomatoes and vice versa. The eggs were extremely fatty as was the bacon. New bacon was put in whilst I waited and it was cold. Whole breakfast was not very warm at all. Friends had stayed a couple of nights and said breakfast was poor each morning. Shame as it really let the place down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We very occaionally go here as the price is very high. The food is always good and very well presented but on this occaision the servies was poor. Took 15 mins to get a drink, and they had no procescco only very expensive champagne. There were long gaps between the courses and the pudding options were fairly uninspiring so much so that we came home and had something else. To top it off there seemed to be some issue with actually letting us pay and we sat for ages with them saying they had to have a manager approve taking the money! We had lots of sorrys said as we left. On the way out they asked us for our coat tickets. Umm you didnt give us any! so we had to tell them which were our coats. Its such a shame seemed so disorganised.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We weren't actually staying at the hotel but going to the restaurant, I was taking my husband for a surprise birthday meal - it was actually for Sunday lunch. It was cold outside but lovely and warm and inviting inside. We had a drink in the bar by the fire before we were shown to our table. The three course lunch was excellent and very reasonably priced, the staff were very nice, professional and attentive. We don't live to far from the Aviator so it is quite convenient to get there - we will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aviator Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.