We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“proper italian unlike the chain rubbish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Colosseo

Il Colosseo
18 Alexandra Road | North Camp, Farnborough GU14 6DA, England
01252 517511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 78 Restaurants in Farnborough
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Fleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“proper italian unlike the chain rubbish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have been here several times over the years and have returned because the staff and chefs come from italy so you get the authentic cuisine not like the chain rubbish you get at ask etc.

food and selection of wines always a treat. service is excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service...shame about the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The evening started off well with a very warm, friendly, Italian welcome from our waiter. We (4 people) ordered mussels in a tomato and garlic sauce which had a slimy texture. They were definitely not fresh! The pizzas we ordered were very disappointing as the cheese had a strange generic taste, it definitely wasn't the lovely buffalo mozzarella I was expecting, more like Costco's own brand cheese. The dessert selection was good but noticeably shop bought. My Tiramisu was tasteless. To end this meal we all ordered lattes which tasted like dishwater.... On the plus side the waiter and waitresses were excellent, quick and efficient, but the food really let this place down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A real taste of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Probably one of the best Italian meals we have had outside of Italy itself. The service was amazingly quick when the quality of cooking is considered and the staff were exactly what was wanted. Very family oriented.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good for mid-week dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Went with 10 of us from work and having been before, know what to expect. Good choice of specials, as well as the normal standard. Great bottle of chianti which was (I thought) reasonably priced. Service can be quick here, but a good pace because it was fairly busy. Overall it's recommended for the Farnborough / North Camp area and no doubt we will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Average Italian without much atmosphere. My partner's passion is calf's liver in sage butter, unfortunately it could have been used as a remould on my car tyre, she vowed never to return, to be fair the food I had was OK albeit nothing special

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Colosseo also viewed

Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 

Been to Il Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Colosseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.