We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Colosseo

Il Colosseo
18 Alexandra Road | North Camp, Farnborough GU14 6DA, England
01252 517511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 78 Restaurants in Farnborough
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely food nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited the restaurant tonight , the first time for a long while and I have to say the meal was lovely and the service was great and I can't think why we haven't been back before .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“POOR SERVICE FOR AN EXPENSIVE MEAL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a difference a year makes, I went there on saturday night with a friends birthday
There was 8 of us in the group, 5 of them had vegetables with their main meal but only got 4 separate potions and the vegetables looked as if they were out of a frozen food bag - horrible !

At least they were served there meals they completely forgot about me and when I finally got it I thought the £3 Pizza I'd had from Asda was much better than the £10 bland Ham & Mushroom they dished up as an after thought.

All this with a Chicken Salad and Chocolate Cake for over £30 each
Crap Meal Very Poor Value !

My sandwich at Subway was much better value and at least it had some taste

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Booked a table through their website, and received a personal email reply - good start and a nice touch.

The restaurant itself is a big open space - the building used to be a bank. I imagine when its full there's a great atmosphere in there, without the need for music blaring.

Food was excellent, well priced, ample portions - could not fault any of the courses, beautiful fresh tasting ingredients and all well cooked. Never had a cheesecake with a sponge running through the middle either - but its something I'll definitely go back for!

Definitely one of the best restaurants in Farnborough.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food is very good, the steak was one of the best I have had. Pizza is also very good and proper authentic pizza, nice thin crispy base. The meat dishes are not cheap but worth it. The fact that it is owned and run by Italians and that the owner is in the kitchen cooking is always a good sign. The place is rather large inside (almost like a warehouse) and decor is a bit dated, but I will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Team Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Second visit here with the Team, first class service and food!! The waiting staff are fantastic, they took the food orders promptly and the food was soon on the table. Drinks continued to flow and we had a fantastic night and a good rapport with the team at ll Colosso. We will be back soon with the team from Babcock.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Colosseo also viewed

Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 

Been to Il Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Colosseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.