We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Romana

Villa Romana
The Old Coach House, 69a High Street, Fareham po16 7bb, England
+44 1329 825316
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Villa Romana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 131 Restaurants in Fareham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $45 - $76
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Fareham’s Villa Romana rustic and contemporary combine to create an authentic Italian dining experience with a splash of olde worlde English thrown in to the mix. This centrally located, 18th century coach house oozes character with exposed brick and beams.The ideal setting for a romantic evening or stylish dinner with friends. Villa Romana is using fresh local ingredients, the Chefs produce an excellent combination of classically traditional and inspirational new dishes to whet the palate of any Italian food fanatic.
Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have visited Villa Roman for years, The food is Excellent and the ( owners) Morie & Albie and also Matt are so lovely. Nothing is to much trouble.
You can have a cosy Romantic evening, or a family/friends get together. They use to have a singer friday and Saturday evenings ,the songs where beautiful, shame they stopped. But still excellent restaurant. You will need to book in advance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    46
    19
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great meal every time at this fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have visited Villa Romana several times, either as a couple, with friends and another time as a family group of 30 for our daughter's 18th birthday and every time the food has been amazing and the service excellent! I would highly recommend the calamari starter and the shoulder of lamb, however we have never been disappointed with our food choices, whatever we choose.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Unhappy with the food and services”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've been to Villa Romana on three previous occasions and enjoyed the food and atmosphere, however, nine of of us went there recently for a friends birthday and unfortunately the food was not that good and the service was pretty poor. The bread wasn't enough for everyone, and had to ask for more, butter never arrived. The olives were dry and tasteless, some of the food was salty and the veal was tuff. The 10% service charge added on what was an expensive bill, quite frankly was disgraceful as the service was very poor and suggest training is needed on how to service food at the tables for customers. We should have complained at the time but no one wanted to cause a embarrassing situation inside the restaurant. We just all decided never to go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaromanaltd, Owner at Villa Romana, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I am really sorry to hear you have not had a good experience at Villa Romana,
Unfortunately I have to disagree with your comments. I am very proud and confident of the standard of service that my staff provides and they definitely do not need any more training.
The bread is free and I’m sure if you asked for more then you would have been given more. The service charge is at your discretion and if you were unwilling to pay this you should have notified the waiter and we would have taken it off the bill for you. If you had brought the problems to our attention on the evening we may have been able to assist you and you may have had a more enjoyable evening.
If you visit us again please tell a member of the staff of your unhappiness and we will do anything and everything to make sure we remedy the situation
Thank you
Regards
Maurizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“60th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

An excellent evening with polite and attentive staff. Good food with generous portions. A party atmosphere was enhanced by the surroundings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointingly below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was my second visit in two years. Last time I had been reasonably pleased with their attentive service and straight forward Italian food. This time it was decidedly average. My partner had a bland stew, with dried up vegetables, and I had education in what can only be described at a gravy. Not very Italian. Atmosphere was good and it was very busy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Romana also viewed

 
Fareham, Hampshire
 

Been to Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.