We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truffles French Restaurant

Truffles French Restaurant
8a High Street | Fareham, Fareham PO16 7AN, England
+44 1329 231265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 131 Restaurants in Fareham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $44
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Truffles Restaurant Francais Fareham has been serving French cuisine for the past 26 years. The restaurant is located in the older part of Fareham and is a listed building with bundles of character. Inside, the lovely French inspired decor, soothing warm colours and soft candlelight set the mood with starched white table cloths and background music sets the tone for a perfect evening. Also, for your comfort, Truffles is fully air-conditioned. The menu changes with the seasons but each day the Head Chef Dallas Rossie, offers market-inspired specials to add variety and surprise for our legion of regular customers.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had a great meal which used freshest ingredients and excellent sauces. Great service, too. Only disappointment was a customer who hadn't read the menu properly, so he hadn't worked out it was a set-price, 3 course deal. He complained loudly (he's also complained, very unreasonably, here on Tripadvisor). The facts are simple - everyone else in the restaurant had read the menu, which clearly stated it was a fixed price for three courses. After he left, the three remaining couples praised the waitress for her calmness in the face of a rather rude man.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    34
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Set menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just had an unhappy experience in truffles fareham. Selected 2 courses from the set menu which consisted of three courses. Did not want a dessert but was billed for all thee courses ie £18-50.
Made my displeasure known by complaining but staff were adamant I should pay for three courses. FIrst time I have had to pay for food I did't eat. I know times are difficult but this is taking things a bit far. Give this eatery a wide berth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truffles_Fareham, Owner at Truffles French Restaurant, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I would like to state that a set menu means a set menu for a set price. We do not offer an a la carte menu where each course is individually priced. It does state clearly on the menu that it is £18.50 for 3 courses. There is no pricing on the menu stating different prices for a different number of courses. I was also informed that this person was extremely rude to the waitress which was totally unnecessary. The waitress is there to do a job, not be insulted by rude customers. The waitress did nothing wrong, just carrying out her duties as instructed by the manager.

I would like to thank Peter G who was at the restaurant at the same time as this person and submitted a Tripadvisor review mentioning the events of this particular evening confirming what I have stated above.
D Rossie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great venue for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We recently celebrated my mother-in-law's 100th birthday at Truffles. We had spent 6 months planning the evening and Don dealt with my many emails, questions and special requests in an entirely professional manner - and there were a lot of questions!! Everything went without a hitch and mum had a wonderful evening – she was quite overcome at times. We had dined at Truffles a few times previously and the quality of the food has been consistently good. On this particular occasion a few of our 16 adult guests opted for the fillet steak and comments such as "the best steak I have ever eaten" were heard. Our thanks go to the chefs on the evening who, with advance notice, provided mum's favourite scallops wrapped in bacon for her main course. The entire team contributed to making this a very special event. It really was a wonderful celebration for us – one we will always remember. We wished we live nearer so we could dine at Truffles more often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food and service. Recommend the set menu. Lamb was very good. Will go again. Pork main dish was very goo too. Would be great if they opened on Sunday

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food ,poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent but was let down by a waiter who badly needed training in the basics of table service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truffles French Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Truffles French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truffles French Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.