We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Fareham Solent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Fareham
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great for short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for two nights on business, very nice hotel on the outskirts of Fareham, very friendly staff and a short taxi ride into town. Breakfast was really good. The gym and pool is also good. The only annoying negative was £12 for 24 hours. Wi fi, you should not have to pay extra for wi fi in this day and age.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is always great to read our guests writing about how friendly our team are, a comment that I shall be sure to pass on. I am also very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast service too and found the hotel suited your needs. Complimentary WiFi is set to be offered by June this year to all of our IHG Rewards members. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    141
    63
    16
    13
See reviews for
89
81
19
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chelmsford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We used this hotel as a base for visiting the Histopric docks, we took two rooms and used the Spa which was a bit dated, however the staff at this property make all the difference. I would 100% recommend this hotel just down to the staff and would use the hotel for this reason, the location is good but the rooms a little tired and needing a spruce up

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay. Our team here always try to offer the best possible service to all of our guests so I am delighted to read you referring to our team as "excellent", a comment that I shall be sure to share. We are delighted that you would recommend our hotel to others and hope to see you here again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Never use this hotel again. bad service and the old woman at the reception was not at all helpful.
Breakfast was just OK and nothing special and the rooms were again nothing special. It was clean enough BUT not worth what I had to pay to stay for 2 nights!! What a way to waste your money.
Some Holiday Inn are good but this one is the worst one I have used. NEVER AGAIN!!

Room Tip: A very good example how not to run a hotel in England!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry to read that you found that your stay did not meet your expectations. I shall personally ensure that your comments are shared with the front desk team regarding the level of service that you experienced from our receptionist and can only apologise, I can ensure you that this is not a usual occurrence. I am sorry to read that you will not visit again. Thank you again for you feedback. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Slightly off-putting start when almost none of the lighting in the car park seemed to be working and I had to hunt down someone to check me in. Things quickly improved however. Room was clean and comfortable. Unusual sliding wooden shutters in place of curtains made for very good blackout and contributed to a good night's sleep.
Mostly young staff were very enthusiastic and helpful, and service in the restaurant and bar were excellent.
Booked well in advance and felt the rate paid represented very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry that you felt your arrival experience was not to the standard in which you would expect from our hotel. Please be assured that repairs to the car park lighting is being looked into. I am happy to read that you felt our team were enthusiastic and helpful, I shall be sure to pass on your feedback as I know they will all be delighted to read this. I am also very happy to read that the shutter blinds added to the good night sleep that you had throughout your stay. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for three nights and was greeted by the ladies on reception who from the outset wanted to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The double room I stayed in was clean and tidy. Really what more can you ask for? The bath room was also clean and tidy, and the shower almost blasted you out of the bath. Did have a little trouble with the shower curtain as if you don't ensure its up to the wall totally, you get a wet floor.
I only have a couple of niggles, nothing serious, there was a serious gap under the room door which allowed you to hear noise from the corridor (doors closing) and let in light at night.
A friend who was also staying here also was supplied with bottles of water and hot chocolate in his room, neither of which were in my room. The water at least would have been good as the air conditioning did create a dry atmosphere in the room. Breakfast was great a good selection and again the staff looked after you all the while. Checking out again staff wanted to make sure you had a good stay and the curly wurly was a great treat for the way home. This was a good location for Portsmouth and Gosport etc. Overall I would have no problems returning to this holiday in, it was possibly one of the best I have stayed in....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. I am always pleased to read such great comments regarding our team here and in particular our reception team and breakfast team, who shall be honoured at your kind comments as I know that they strive on offering great service to all of our guests. I am sorry to read of your minor complaints, our executive bedrooms do provide water and a chocolate bar as standard unlike our standard bedrooms, however we are always happy to offer these small extra's if requested. I can only apologise the sound and light seeped through under your door, I shall ask maintenance to investigate into this problem further. We very much hope that you shall stay with us again if in the area. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Fareham Solent for two nights whilst in the area on business. Let me emphasis the good points first; the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and they should be complimented on their professionalism. Breakfast was very good with attentive staff and an excellent selection of nicely grilled food as well cereal and continental choices. The public areas, bar, restaurant, reception etc are nice and quite modern.
Now for the not so good - First and foremost no free wifi!!! Is this really acceptable in 2014 when I would imagine that most midweek guests are business users who rely on wifi? £12.95 for 24 hours connection is frankly ridiculous.
There is no lift and although there is only one set of stairs it was a bit difficult with my bags. I was offered help so I suppose I can't complain if I didn't take that offer up. Once I got to the room I found it to be very tired and there is no safe. Whilst the bed itself was comfortable, the pillows were not. Although they were labelled "soft" and "firm", I could honestly not tell the difference between the two. Worst of all though was that the quilt was the thinnest of summer quilts you could possibly imagine, seemingly not much thicker than a sheet... Hello....it is January! Although, it could be argued that the heating in the room is fully controllable, I would counter that many people don't want the heating blasting out as it gets too stuffy in the night. They do however like to snuggle under a nice thick quilt. There wasn't even an optional blanket in the "wardrobe".
Lastly the room service food wasn't brilliant. I only ate in one night and I have to say I am quite glad about that. I ordered the vegetable lasagne, which came with garlic ciabatta and salad, however the lasagne looked more like a slop on the plate, the salad was smothered in the most acrid tasting dressing it was virtually inedible (I appreciate that this is a matter of personal taste though) but worst of all the meal was almost cold. Certainly not worth £10.95 plus the £3 room service charge.
In summary, I found the room rather soulless and sad. I know that as a female, travelling on my own I probably have different expectations to a lone male business traveller. This may be a sexist comment but it's a fact that most women like a bit of comfort and homeliness!!
The one thing that truly saves this hotel is without a doubt the staff, especially those on reception and I wouldn't want what appears to be quite a negative review to reflect on them... it doesn't!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is a pleasure to read such kind comments regarding the excellent team here, I shall be sure to feed this back to them. We know breakfast is the most important meal of the day so am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast experience throughout your stay.

I apologise that you found the cost of our WiFi unreasonable, IHG have confirmed that complimentary WIFI will be available for all IHG Rewards members later this year. We do have alternative pillows and extra blankets available in the hotel upon request, I shall ask housekeeping to look into the standard of our current bedroom pillows and duvets. With regards to your dining experience I shall be sure to share your feedback to our head chef and can only apologise for the standard of food which you received.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope that you will chose to visit us again one day. Kind Reagrds, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

£117 for family of 4 dinner bed and breakfast. Large room, lovely pool - nice and warm and just enough room for play! Welcome drinks, wonderful dinner, activity packs for children, best hotel breakfast I have ever had, and curly wurlys on leaving - cannot fault this hotel for the price and the staff were fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests had such a good stay in could not fault the hotel or service in anyway. I am glad that you had the opportunity to make use of the pool with your family and enjoyed the small extra's such as activity packs and chocolate on checkout. We hope that you and your family will visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.