We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many children!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Fareham Solent to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Too many children!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fast and friendly check-in service on the Friday night - a very nice touch was the glass of complementary wine served there! The room was clean and comfortable but the walls were a bit thin as I was woken up on both nights I stayed there by crying kids. I know it's not the Hotels fault but sleep was also interrupted by inconsiderate guests slamming doors rather than shutting them. Ate at the bar, a club sandwich, which at first seemed expensive until you see the size of it, and had a drink which was at typical hotel prices. Breakfast was a buffet selection of cereals/fruit- juices and the typical English fry-up as well as a continental choice. My second night I was again woken by children, but not by the alarm call I had requested. This time the 'honour' was down to the newspapers being thrown on the floor outside the doors. To be fair, the Hotel 'comped' me on my 'extras' as a goodwill gesture when I checked out and mentioned these issues.
Would I stay again? The Hotel chain actively encourages families and children so I think I would request a child free area to avoid being disturbed, if possible. I did seem to be amongst a lot of family groups where I was on this occasion.
The location is fine if you intend staying in the Hotel - it's got excellent pool/gym facilities as well as beauty treatments for the ladies - but there is nothing within walking distance apart from a Shell garage over the road.

Room Tip: Away from kids! Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quiter road noise wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary glass of wine on check in and also that you found the bedroom clean and comfortable. I am very sorry to see that you were woken whilst trying to sleep. Whilst the hotel likes to be family friendlily we also understand that our other guests enjoy peace and quiet. We do hope that you would stay here again. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    174
    77
    19
    19
See reviews for
115
112
23
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

my daughter booked me into here for my birthday with my fiancee , the staff were great, the reception area fantastic, the resturant was to expensive to eat in so we had a share platter and went over to the garage across the road to purchase sandwiches and wine to take back to our room, the room was quite shabby and in need of a paint job and a deep clean.

the swimming pool is also tired and warn out looking, in the picture it looks amazing but is nothing at all like it i was quite suprised.

my daughter payed less than £40 for this room and i think if she had payed more i would have complained. we didnt have breakfast as this was £12 each thats a rediculous price

Room Tip: only stayed here once and wouldnt stay again our room was right around the back so although quiet wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is always nice to hear that you found our team great. I am disappointed to hear that you found the hotel in need of some updating and I have taken your comments on board. I do hope that we see you in the hotel again. Kind regards Sonya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well located and convenient but not the cheapest in the HI family. Rooms were well appointed and very comfortable and room service prompt. Didn't get chance to sample the leisure facilities but they seemed popular with members.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I would like to thank you for writing this review. I am very pleased that you had a comfortable stay and managed to experience great service whilst sampling our room service menu. We do hope to see you at the hotel again so that you can make use of our leisure facilities. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

With many Hotels in the area , the choice was made to stay at this particular Holiday Inn
It had good leisure facilities which was an attraction
The staff were helpful and polite
The room was showing signs that its not a new hotel
But that aside , the week was very pleasant
Fantastic breakfast and a cheap varied bar menu made it an ideal venue

Room Tip: Colleagues stayed on the side of the main road which generated road noise , maybe rooms in the 120...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased to hear that enjoyed the health club. It is also always great to hear that you found our staff helpful and polite. We do hope that you choose our hotel again when next ii the area. Many Thanks, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Excellent, efficient and friendly staff on reception. Good location for hotel. Convenient to motorway. Plenty of space in the bedroom. Good wardrobe space. Usual toiletries, hairdryer and trouser press. Good lighting in the room and convenient light switches to the bed. Twin bedded room just for me. The single bed seemed very 'single'. Very narrow. Good heating, though temperature is set centrally in the hotel.
Was very surprised to see no biscuits included in the hospitality tray. For £139 I expected a better provision. Bathroom clean but slightly shabby. Sink plugs a bit stained. Nice towels.
Room really quiet which was perfect. TV a bit too clever for its own good but managed to 'tame' it.
Fareham hotels are always pretty well booked up. Not sure if there are sufficient hotels for the area. If I were staying in any other Holiday Inn I would expect a slightly higher standard of decoration for my money but all in all this hotel is comfortable and friendly, especially the reception staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay in the hotel. It is excellent to hear that you found our reception staff so friendly and I shall pass on your kind words to the team. I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in the Fareham area. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton on Sea
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn for one night in Jan 2013. The room I had was fine, including TV, kettle tea/coffee etc., a single and double bed, bath with shower over and generally in good condition. Wifi is not free. Unfortunately new low energy light bulbs seem to make it a bit boring.
The corridors leading to the rooms definitely need some paint and new carpets, they also have stale smoke smell.
The bar & restaurant area is almost totally open plan, feeling a bit like an airport lounge, and pretty soul-less. The food in the restaurant was alright although the service could have been better, rather slow and items forgotten (i.e. vegetables). Breakfast doesn't start till 06.30 which was too late for me, 6am would have been better. The bar doesn't sell real ale.
There is a health club with quite a large pool, probably 25m long and 1.2m deep I believe, I didn't have chance to sample it so no idea how warm etc.

Room Tip: It's quite a big hotel and although my room was good it was upstairs and quite a way from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I would like to thank you for posting a review. I am disappointed to hear that you found the public areas unwelcoming and I shall pass on your comments regrading the corridors to our Maintenance team. I shall also feedback you comments regarding forgotten items in the restuarant to our food and beverage team. We do hope top see you again in the future. Thank You, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights whilst on a course nearby. Room was comfortable and tidy. Good selection of pillows. Nice to have bottles of water and a chocolate bar in room on arrival. Slightly disappointed that they were not re-stocked for second night. Restaurant service was good from friendly staff. Food quality was very high at both breakfast and evening. Added bonus for me was one of my favourite beers, Boddingtons, which went down very well on both nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review. I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary water and chocolate provided in your room. We hope to see you again soon with a boddingtons in hand. Warm regards, Sonya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.