We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer
14 The Avenue, Fareham, England
0132 923 0800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 129 Restaurants in Fareham
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At The Buccaneer Harvester in Fareham food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Fareham, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Funtley, Titchfield and Bridgemary, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very good food and service, staff all friendly and helpful. Had a short wait but were called as soon as a table was free. Very qick service after ordering the main meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    14
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tired and needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ate here on a Tuesday night just on impulse. We stood for ages waiting to be seated and were just on the verge of going somewhere else when a waitress appeared
We used to come here when our children were little and haven't been in here for several years. Sadly it looked just the same!
On the night we went it was fairly busy to start with, presumably with people finishing the Early Bird menu, and the service was slow, however this improved as it became emptier. Our mains arrived before we had finished the starters, our waitress said she didn't realise we had starters!
All in all, OK, nothing to complain about but nothing to rave about either. The menu is uninspiring. I think I'm just over Harvesters now- OK for families with younger children but not my cup of tea any more. If I did go again to one locally it wouldn't be this one, I would go to Port Solent instead- much better

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Harvester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have been to this Harvester many times, most recently 2 days ago;
where we received great friendly helpful service and good food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I normally love Harvesters but not this one”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Recently stayed overnight in Fareham and one of the reasons for choosing the hotel was that there was a Harvester within walking distance. I was really disappointed with the food, however the staff were excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple basic and good value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Not the best quality of food which does prove to be inconsistent in quality.
This time it was ok and we didn't have to send anything back at all.
Good for easy and quick family dining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer also viewed

Whiteley, Fareham
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Buccaneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.