We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trafalgar Guest House

Trafalgar Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Trafalgar Guest House to your Saves list
Trafalgar Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   63 High Street, Fareham PO16 7BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Fareham B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was a great place to stay in Fareham. The welcome was warm and genuine and the room we were allocated was large and bright and had 2 double beds and a single bed which would be ideal for a family. The ensuite bathroom with shower was clean and cleverly built into the room in this heritage listing building. The Breakfast options were very good - hot English alternatives or simple cereals and milk and yoghurt. In deed the breakfast set us for our day of sight seeing. Service was excellent and on-site parking out the back was a bonus. Like others we visited the Golden Lion pub for an evening meal of good pub food. There was nothing to fault for our short 2 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I spent two nights at the Trafalgar this week and highly recommend it. The room was large and comfortable. the bathroom was big and beautifully appointed with a jacuzzi bath and new shower. it was clearly newly refurbished, spotless and warm. the breakfast was made to order and they were very helpful when I was joined by a friend. the woman who served breakfast on Saturday and then came to tidy the room and replenish drinks was really lovely and couldn't do enough for us. the only little thing was the bright street lamp which shone into the room all night. Obviously they can't stop that but an extra blackout curtain liner could solve the problem. All in all one of the best little hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the four poster room, which was very comfortable and spacious with a large en suite. We slept soundly with no road noise at all in-spite of its central position. There's parking at the back and an amazing little restaurant over the road - Lauro's Brasserie is highly recommended.
Beware however of the amazing breakfast, it is seriously huge and absolutely wonderful.
All in all a lovely weekend and we're very happy to recommend this lovely guest house

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster room, the bed is huge and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night en route to taking our daughter to Southampton university. Got a family room which consisted of a super comfortable double bed for my husband and I and a single bed for our daughter. There was plenty of room for us all, with a tiny ensuite with everything you would need. We ate across the road in the local pub although wasnt overly impressed with the food. Not much happening in fareham but we went and had a drink in one of the bars in town. HAd fabulous cooked breakfast before we left the next day. Would reccommend this guest house to anyone passing through Fareham.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed overnight due to a Naval ceremony and following the reviews on Trip Advisor. The Guest house is a beautifully renovated old office building and the room we stayed in was the family room on the ground floor. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was also very clean and spacious. The guest house is also central just being a short walk to the centre of Fareham where you will find lots of restaurants and shops. The full English breakfast was large and served hot (although it did take a while to arrive, and the lady who served us was very friendly and welcoming although the owner (Shaun) does not come across as a people person. I think the price of €95 for the one night (2 people) was expensive and not sure if I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the guest house for two weeks in their family room. It was spacious enough for three kids and two adults, with shower and facilities in the room. I have no idea how they kept it so tidy when we went out, but it was really appreciated. The cookies and tea when we got back to the room was always welcome. Shawn and Natalie are amazing hosts and did so much to make our stay wonderful. Incredible full English breakfast kept us good until an early supper. Food was delicious and lots of it. There is a large backyard with BBQ and picnic table to enjoy the outdoors. I would highly recommend this for families where you would like to stay together. We had a room overlooking the street and there was no problem sleeping with the window open. Golden Lion across the street had great food but got booked up fast on some nights.

Room Tip: Family room is large and easily fits three kids and two adults. Perfect for families with younger c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for our Wedding night along with a number of our guests. The rooms were well decorated, spacious, clean and tidy. The welcome by the proprietors could not have been warmer and the breakfasts....well what can I say.....trying is believing. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trafalgar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafalgar Guest House

Address: 63 High Street, Fareham PO16 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trafalgar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Trafalgar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Guest House Fareham, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trafalgar Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.