We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper pub food at proper prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
28 High Street, Fareham PO16 7AE, England
+44 1329 234061
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 129 Restaurants in Fareham
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Golden Lion is in Fareham's historic High Street, a conservation area in the borough of Fareham. We hope you enjoy your experience in our Traditional English Pub. We would be delighted to receive any comments, good or constructive in order that we may build upon and improve our business.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Proper pub food at proper prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had lunch here with a friend recently, for the first time. Sausage egg and chips and Scampi and chips. You have a choice between "hearty" or standard portions: we both plumped for hearty. This isn't quite enough for an american midwest truck driver but it was fine for us although we did wonder what the non hearty option looked like, especially if you removed the side salad from the plate. (Aren't we passed the time where side salad equals neatly chopped up bits and bobs with no dressing?). Side salad to one side, as it should be, you can't knock the food at all - really good value. The service was very good, very friendly and very prompt.

This is a pub that does food. Long may it continue and long may the menu stay as it is.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    36
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fareham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love the pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Been frequenting this pub with the wife off and on for a while now and always find it a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The bar staff are always chatty and helpful, which just goes to make it an even better experience.

Have had a few meals in there and the majority have been well cooked, presented and value for money. Did have a roast beef dinner a short while back and to be honest, we were a tad disappointed with the actual beef. It looked like the sort you would get in a pack, rather than cut from a joint! The roast potatoes and vegetables were spot on, but the beef lacked that finesse.

That aside, the pub is nice mix of clientele and is great for a beer or three and they often have guest ales on.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great traditional Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having read the positive reviews on here we booked Sunday lunch and weren't disappointed. We arrived with our two year old little girl (who is quite noisy at times) and given a slightly older crowd wondered whether this would go down well with the lunchers. We needn't have worried at all as the landlady warmly welcomed us in and sat us down while making us feel right at home.

The food was great, really tasty. My "measure of a good roast" is when my roast potatoes arrive firm and crisp with fluffy centres. They passed!

They operate a slim window, from about 1200-1400hrs so you know the food you are getting is freshly cooked and not sat under a hotplate. (all with locally sourced ingredients).

Monte the friendly family golden retriever is absolutely gorgeous. If you're lucky- he may pay your table a visit, as he did us. Great food, friendly barstaff and clientele.... and a nice pint of London Pride to top it off.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Something to Roar about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Came here for lunch as it was fourth on tripadvisor with the folks, never been here before and a nice little gem, lovely staff welcoming, friendly and very efficient. The place is a nice old fashioned pub with guest ales and different evenings to suit everyone from quizzes ,singles night, live music and steak night from stars butchers at Emsworth ordered in. We all had a light lunch which was a warm baguette white or multi grain with piping hot chunky chips a colourful salad consisting of different leaves, lettuce ,cucumber and peppers and different fillings 1. Cheddar cheese and sweet pickle 2. Three rashers of bacon cooked crisp or not 3. Two pork sausages all for £4.95 excellent value. For a lighter option just share you might be able to have a pud that way and if shopping in Fareham park at the pub first which is free then once you've finished lunch move to the multi storey car park saving a bit more money on parking will be back now we know about this fuller's pub

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went for dinner with 6 friends, never been in Golden Lion before, but always thought it looked like a lovely pub. Wasn't disappointed when I walked in to a lovely welcome and chatty bar staff. We were sat down and told about the specials - beef stroganoff!!

I haven't had this since the seventies, so ordered it without looking at the menu, as thought it sounded delicious.

The pub has a lovely atmosphere, there was even a small band playing.

The stroganoff consisted of rice, mushrooms and cut up roast beef which was like the sandwich beef that you buy sliced in packets for sandwiches.

Last time I had this meal it was made with fillet of at least rump steak and cooked fresh. Was really disappointed and couldn't eat the meat as it was dry and quite horrible. The price of this was £8.50.

So sad because everything else in the pub was lovely, but if I pay £8.50 for a meal I expect it to be fresh and not slices of pre cooked meat!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

 
Fareham, Hampshire
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.