We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brookfield Hotel to your Saves list
Brookfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Havant Road, Emsworth PO10 7LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emsworth
essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel offers great value for money, coupled with first class service. The hotel itself has character, with ample seating in the bar and reception area. We booked a leisure break so had bed, breakfast and our evening meal included in the price. The food was of a very good quality and wine was reasonably priced. Our room on the first floor was small but well fitted out. The room was spotless and the bathroom newly decorated. We had a great stay and the staff seemed to genuinely enjoy their work. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,
Wow - what a fabulous review - thank you. We indeed have a great team but is always nice to receive such positive feedback and I will ensure this is circulated accordingly.
We offer a variety of special interest or occasion packages - all representing excellent value for money - all details can be found on our website and maybe you will try one of these on your next visit.
We hope to see you again soon,
Julie Jehu
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    74
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
34
83
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spent three nights at the Brookfield Hotel in Emsworth. The hotel is located on the outskirts of the Village but within walking distance of the center of town. The hotel has a very pleasant staff and they were very helpful with any issues which arose during my stay. The room was well proportioned for a European hotel and the bathroom was especially large and modern. The included breakfast was exceptionally above expectations and I do recommend the Full English Breakfast. The Hotel does offer to order a newspaper and the one pound per day charge is added to the bill. The stated rate per night includes all taxes. The last morning I had to catch a flight and could not make the 7:15 start of the normal breakfast but the staff will arrange a full continental breakfast which will be delivered to your room at an earlier time - I had it delivered at 6.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review - a pleasure to read and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased you mentioned our breakfast - all freshly cooked to order, and that we were also able to accommodate your early breakfast requirement.
We hope to see you in Emsworth again in the future,
Kind regards,
Julie |Jehu
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We chose this hotel instead of booking on in Portsmouth. The hotel has a large car park and is well situated for both Portsmouth and Chichester. On arrival we were not happy with our allocated room and this was changed immediately. The hotel has upgraded the rooms, nice bathrooms however the bedding remains of a budget standard which is disappointing, I think the hotel have missed a trick here. Breakfast is excellent although service was slow. The one thing that really does stand out are the staff who are friendly and professional. During our stay a local charity event was held, this did cause problems if you wanted to meet and have a coffee in the lounge, but it was a good cause and it was nice to see the hotel supporting a local charity.

Room Tip: We moved to a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review - all feedback is appreciated and invaluable to us.

We are very proud of our staff and I am pleased once again to read that their friendliness and professionalism has shone through.

We are in the process of refurbishing and upgrading our bedrooms so I am delighted to read that you like the improvements we are making.....this is a rolling programme but our 2 brand new executive rooms are simply divine.

I was disappointed that the bedding did not meet your expectations and will liaise with our Housekeeping Manager to check the quality of all bedding items.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Brookfield again in the future and you may want to treat yourself to a stay in our Master Suite - complete with contemporary 4 poster bed.

Kind regards,
Julie
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERLOOVILLE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel catered for 41 guests for evening celebration dinner plus rooms for 3 couples and 2 singles.
Food and staff/service superb! Chef and Kitchen outstanding.
'Happy couple' held up but hotel kept guests content and supplied drinks, juggled the kitchen until our arrival.
Very personal friendly service and hotel. No like big chain hotels with plastic same everywhere you go environment. Ideally placed just outside Portsmouth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review - we are delighted to have made this very special occasion even more memorable and hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for your next family celebration.

It is so nice to see that our efforts to always provide professional, flexible and friendly service is noticeable and I will ensure your comments are shared with our team.

Kind regards,

Julie
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The outstanding thing about this budget-level hotel is the excellent staff. Without fail, they are friendly, polite and eager to please. Our dinner waitress, Paige, was not only exceptionally professional and attentive but also offered to bring a bottle of water and fresh milk to our room after the meal. Rooms are basic but clean and public areas comfortable, though a little tired in places and a tad over-lit in the evenings. Everything is wonderful value from the delicious food, including locally-sourced steak, to the wine list with many bottles around £17. Wifi is free and there is extensive parking at this hotel which is conveniently close to the A27 and Emsworth railway station. Not surprisingly, Brookfield is popular with older people who recognise you can get good food and old-fashioned service at a bargain price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind words.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our staff and the service they provide.

We hope to see you again at The Brookfield Hotel.

Kind regards
Julie Jehu
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked the package for 135.00 which included cream tea, 3 course meal in The Hermitage Restaurant (states clearly) and room and breakfast. Before our trip i had pre requested afternoon tea on our arrival and a table in the restaurant for 8.30. This was all confirmed by an email from the hotel. After check in we had our cream tea, which was really very nice, scones tea and coffee. We retired to our room to get ready for the evening, upon running a bath I noticed the bath had not been cleaned properly and there were dark hairs all over it. So before we could even relax I had to clean the bath myself. No matter how little or much you pay you still expect cleanliness and this was far from it. We went down for dinner and were told we were in the slipper room not the dining room as it states in the package. The waitress sat us down but told us they had two big parties on so she couldn't take our order for twenty minutes and we would basically just have to wait until they had time to serve us!!!!!!! It was extremely awkward. We were the only ones dining in this room at the side which was lacking any sort of atmosphere........ Luckily another couple joined the room but we all had to talk together as there was no privacy to have a conversation!! Once we had been served and our food started arriving it was perfectly nice, unfortunately the waitress forgot my vegetables and so my main was not worth having once these arrived. The couples dining in the restaurant all felt extremely sorry for the waitress as all she kept doing was apologising. All in all a rather disastrous meal. I expressed my concerns to the reception in the morning, but I don't think these were really taken on. The lady explained to me that we did eat in the dining room!!!!! Upon booking this hotel, at no point did anyone point out that we would not be in the dining room and they had other bookings who would be looked after before us! We were all paying customers so I really don't believe we should of been treated any different! All in all a poor show of customer services and housekeeping....... The highlight of the stay was the lovely couple we met who we were sat with at dinner! Very disappointed...........

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to leave a review.

I would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the unfortunate events that took place during your stay with us. As you can see from our other reviews this is not standard practice at The Brookfield Hotel as we pride ourselves on our service.

Your feedback has been passed through the relevant departments to act upon and to ensure this does not happen again.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to The Brookfield Hotel in the future and restore your faith in us.

Kind regards
Julie Jehu
Reception manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here for four nights with a goodly number of members from my walking group. This was an excellent place to stay. We were all made very welcome and the staff were efficient and courteous. The bedroom was generous sized, clean and well decorated. The bathroom was very spacious. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the hot food freshly prepared. Orders were taken individually. Dinner each evening was appetising and served hot. So many places seem unable to get the food hot to the table. The table staff were all charming and friendly. There was a pleasant garden and smart bar area and plenty of parking space. The hotel is close to the centre of Emsworth so it was possible to walk there. This was a modest and well run hotel giving good service. The large group was managed very well. There is plenty to do in the immediate area as well as good walks.

Room Tip: Perhaps at the back as the road is busy particularly during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Front Office Manager at Brookfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the taking the time to leave a review and for your kind words about the hotel.

It was a pleasure to have your walking group stay with us and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We strive to achieve good service and I am pleased this showed through our service and staff.

We hope to see you again at The Brookfield Hotel.

Kind regards
Julie Jehu
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield Hotel

Address: Havant Road, Emsworth PO10 7LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brookfield Hotel, Emsworth is ideally situated - right on the boundary between West Sussex and South Hampshire. Portsmouth and Chichester are both within 10 miles of the hotel and the No 700 bus-stop is right outside; so no need to get caught in the traffic. The small market town of Emsworth, between the maritime heritage of Portsmouth and the English cathedral city of Chichester, is a quite and attractive, yet vibrant and dynamic community, where the residents would not live anywhere else, and visitors are sure of a friendly welcome. The Brookfield Hotel has 39 bedrooms, all fully en suite with comfortable beds and all amenities. The Hermitage Restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with morning coffee and afternoon tea in between. Whether you are a hotel resident or not, you will always be welcome. Conferences, weddings, christenings, funeral teas and all family or business occasions can be arranged by the professional team at The Brookfield Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Brookfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Emsworth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.