We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food & lovely Guest House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 36 On the Quay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Emsworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
36 On the Quay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 South Street, Emsworth PO10 7EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Emsworth
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb Food & lovely Guest House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were recommended 36 On The Quay by some friends who stayed here and ate in the restaurant last summer and who couldn't give the place enough praise. We were looked after from the moment we checked in and our room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was lovely, and the staff were really attentive and friendly. We had the A la Carte Menu, which was absolutely superb. Each course was amazing with additional complimentary courses in between, and was served with an amazing bottle of red which was at the perfect temperature.

Breakfast was gorgeous and you can either have this served in your room or choose to sit in the breakfast room ,which is a great touch.

We will definitely be back and bringing friends!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    10
    4
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had 5 couples in our group for a 50th Birthday surprise. We stayed in the Hotel for 2 nights and ate in the Restaurant on both of them. The first night we had the Taster menu and on the second we had the A La Carte menu.

The Rooms:
We had all the rooms above the Restaurant; 5 in total. Every room was well presented and decorated. All were clean. We all had a look at each room (why not). Everyone was very impressed with the rooms.

The Restaurant:
WOW! what great melas. The first night was the tasting menu. There was 10 of us for this meal. All food came out without having to wait. and the food was very very good. i dont think anyone left anything on their plate. One person in our group was a vegiterian and they had no problems at all with the food they were served (most of the dishes were the same as the non-vegeterian people had).
The wine was lovely and well priced. The service was outstanding.

The A La Carte menu was equally as wonderful. On this night we had 12 people for dinner and everyone orders from the menu. Did have a tough time deciding what to have from the menu but no one not disapointed with what they had. All meals came out at the same time and each one was very well presented.

The service was great. I would recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Saffron was like living in a flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

A really good restaurant in an unlikely spot - hardly for passing trade. To some extent, I hope it stays that way otherwise prices will escalate.

Anywhere else (especially London) prices would be triple.

A perfectly good and broad menu choice with each dish carefully crafted.
Could not find any fault with it except for a few obnoxious customers - hardly the fault of the restaurant.

Be very happy to eat there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The total opposite to the people who found this very disappointing, we had a great time, we were looked after from the minute we came in, no long waits between courses, just the right amount of time. The food was not only beautifully presented it tasted fab. We were a party of 8 we had our own section in the restaurant and what was good for me was that the ambient sound was not all over the place which means you can hear conversation it was very good indeed. We had the normal menu and it couldnt be faulted, the cheese was especially good, note that if there are 3 of you wanting cheese you can try all 15 cheeses which was well worth it, breakfast was good too the muesli tasted good but was a bit too hard for my old teeth (thats the only thing wrong with this experience) Also important to my mind the wine list wasnt all expense, for someone like myself who doesnt appreciate £100 bottles, £30 was just fine

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I hired the entire suite of rooms, this being the third time I have stayed with 36 on the Quay. All of my guests who stayed with me, loved the rooms, freshly appointed, whilst retaining the charm of the 'fishing' town. How lovely to stay somewhere where each of the rooms are individual and you are treated as an individual too. My guests travelling from other countries who may have forgotten a small item, soon found it being delivered to their room. The finishing touch of course was the breakfast! The natural yoghurt was the best I have had in my life and the pastries and fruit were beautiful. I will treat myself more often!

Room Tip: My advice is to communicate what your expectations are to the hotel, and they can then give you a fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

19th May, 2011, we had a very special event to celebrate and hoped that “36 on the Quay” would be the perfect place. Unfortunately, we requested the tasting menu but were told the restaurant was particularly busy and the tasting menu was not available. When we arrived, we had to wait what seemed like an eternity before we were greeted and taken to our table. The restaurant seemed really quiet with only a couple of tables occupied (so we were even more disappointed that the tasting menu was not available as the reason given was the restaurant was particularly busy). The final disappointment came during dessert, when we found cellophane wrapping in the dessert. When we pointed this out, there was hardly a reaction or apology – I would have expected a lot more as this was such an unpleasant experience and could have been highly dangerous. We will not be visiting again

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Yet another fantastic meal at 36 On The Quay.

This restaurant with rooms, in a splendid position on the harbour at Emsworth, has been a favourite of my wife’s and mine for many years. We eat out regularly in Michelin-starred restaurants, and yet when we want a quiet, relaxing weekend away with a guarantee of first class food, great atmosphere and friendly service this is always our first choice. In fact, we spend every New Year’s Eve at 36 On The Quay, and that’s always a really fantastic evening.

The rooms above the restaurant are comfortable and luxurious, furnished in a contemporary style, many with a view over the harbour. Our favourite, however, is Cardamom, a fisherman’s cottage opposite the restaurant, stylishly renovated and packed with character.

The superb cooking is classical in style, technical and inventive, the service is friendly and informal and there’s a great buzz about the place. The restaurant is invariably full so we always book well in advance, similarly the rooms.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 36 On the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 On the Quay

Address: 47 South Street, Emsworth PO10 7EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Emsworth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Emsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 36 On the Quay 4*
Also Known As:
36 On The Quay Hotel Emsworth
36 On The Quay Emsworth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 36 On the Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 36 On the Quay to your Saves list