We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fishers Pond

Fishers Pond
Winchester Road, Eastleigh, England
02380692209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 98 Restaurants in Eastleigh
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

beautifull surroundings and very helpful polite staff, I came across the area after being diverted from the nearby motorway, pure luck to find such a clean friendly place to have a quick lunch and relax, great menu with something for everyone.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    89
    65
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wary if large party”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Firstly I'd like to say that we have visited Fishers Pond numerous times over past 7 years and generally been really pleased hence reason for booking our daughter's 18th on Chrismas Eve for a party of 12. We booked well in advance, all meal selections were given in a week in advance as requested so all would be ready on the night. On the evening the restaurant was half full, if that, so not busy. Had to wait half an hour for drinks - bar staff told us waiter would do drinks as we were eating there - apparently order had not got through to the bar!. Then told that there was no fillet steak (had a week to source some) Starters arrived 1.5 hr after our arrival. One of main meals did not arrive with others, apparently request hadn't gone through to kitchen and when it did arrive a medium/rare steak arrived when requested medium/well-done. Waiter apologetic and manager called over who seemed not too interested and thought a 20% discount would suffice. Apparently all the ordering issues were to do with electronic ordering system not functioning properly! Christmas Eve and an 18th with pre-selected meals a week in advance - is manual ordering too difficult? We had booked a 6.30pm meal so that relatives attending from the North West had time to get back home that evening. Needless to say we ate our sweet and left as we had no time for birthday cake. What an 18th to remember. I am quite embarrassed as I was the one who had arranged it all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fishers Pond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well this was a really nice surprise after all of the bad comments and a bad experience a year or so ago
We had an electric power cut this night so we thought we'd try the fishers pond as it being so close to home, after a day at wotk all you want to do is relax eat and perhaps a drink or 2 ? so when the power cut was on we thought we'd give this a try again ! well...! all I can say is well done Fishers Pond ! you've excelled in everyway now compared to our previous poor experince and various bad comments from some of my freinds
Congratulations we'll be back and keep up the great work, service and lastly the fantastic food
Great value too

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Bulk standard menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great variety on menu but it's a pity that food appears very bulk standard and mass produced because this is a lovely setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went to this pub for lunch with my partner. Was about half past one and it was very quiet. Went to the bar and had to wait for a member of staff to come to the bar to serve us. Asked for a table and we were told to find were we would like to sit. We found a nice table for two and sat down. We waited for about ten minutes and then a waitress walked past but didnt even acknowledge us. We waited a little longer, still without drinks or being acknowledged. Then another waitress walked past but she did say i will be right with you. We then waited a further 25 mins and then decided to leave as we still didnt have any drinks and didnt seem to be getting served any time soon. Really disappointed as have had really good service on a really busy day before. We ended up going to the Robin Hood in Durley. Had excellent service and food. Will not be returning to the Fishers Pond anytime soon.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishers Pond also viewed

Eastleigh, Hampshire
Eastleigh, Hampshire
 
Eastleigh, Hampshire
Eastleigh, Hampshire
 

Been to Fishers Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishers Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.