We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant & friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellington Lodge at the Concorde Club

Save Saved
You added Ellington Lodge at the Concorde Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ellington Lodge at the Concorde Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stoneham Lane, Eastleigh SO50 9HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Eastleigh
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant & friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were in the area visiting friends and had a comfortable overnight stay at Ellington Lodge, and a nice welcome from the lady on Reception. However we had a nightcap in the Concorde Club bar when we got back and absolutely loved it - its right next to the restaurant and had a very cosy atmosphere. All the famous jazz artists pictures were really interesting We've vowed to go back and stay again next time there is a band we like performing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    54
    14
    3
    13
See reviews for
11
72
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed one night on 30th November as we were going to the Concorde Club to see The Real Thing one of our favourite bands from way back. From our arrival to leaving the next day we had a great time the staff were friendly the room was large and the food and entertainment were very good.
We had a deal for room and breakfast evening meal and being able to see the show. It is definitely worth doing it this way the meal in the Concorde club was very good and the service top rate and they were very busy. Breakfast was in the Mouldy Fig which is a restaurant in the same building as the Concorde club and was buffet style with a choice of cooked as well, it is worth a visit to see all of the photos hung on the walls of past artists who have played there, such great musical history of the last few decades.
Only one down side the door to our bathroom would not stay shut unless you locked it but other than that I cant fault it and we cant wait to go there again. I would recommend staying there if you are going to see someone play in the club it saves on taxi fares and also makes it more of an occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

the Ellington Lodge is an ok alternative for anyone needing 1 night accommodation near the airport.
Reception and rooms (at least the one I had) were rather gloomy but comfortable enough and at £60 last minute booking reasonably priced.
Would use again if P Inn full.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemyss Bay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stay at the Ellington Lodge at least a couple of nights every month. The level of customer service is exemplary. The staff are friendly, attentive and very helpful. The rooms are quite being set back from the main road and the beds are very comfortable having memory foam matresses. I have really enjoyed every meal that I have had in their Moldy Fig bar/restaurant there is a range of food to support all tastes and the ingredients are always fresh. The breakfasts are great with fresh fruit, yoghurts, cheeses, pastries, full English or my personal favourite smoked haddock and poached eggs, which are always cooked to perfection. There is free wi-fi for guests and this hotel is ideally situated for access to Southampton Airport and train station or business in Eastleigh or Southampton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our second visit to the Ellington Lodge, and although there were no major issues with the facilities, there was always the underlyng feeling ( echoed by other guests),that we were paying far too much for what we got.
As we were attending a show at the adjoining Concorde Club, maybe we were a "captive audience", and paying a premium for the privelige.
A couple of minor issues; A notice in the bathroom stating that the shower should not be used when the bathroom door is open as it may set the fire alarm off!!! If the alarm/ smoke detector is placed correctly, this should not happen according to the London Fire Brigade.
Cooked breakfast was certainly no more than average . Much better available in any greasy spoon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The room was rather small... clean but a little dated. £85.00 on a weekend night rather over the top. Breakfast was very good. Staff all friendly and helpful. Entertainment at the Concorde Club was excellent.... might return just for that alone.

Room Tip: Ground floor level would have been more suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed prior to a cruise on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal with a taxi included to and from the docks. When we booked the lady on the phone was very helpful in giving us directions etc. Our room was warm and clean with a small patio and garden view. It was spacious and had a trouser press, tea, coffee and nice biscuits. Being well away from the road it was peaceful and quiet. The bar was cosy and quite busy, bitter £3.30 a pint chardonnay £6.00 for a large glass. The restaurant had an excellent trio playing jazz and the dinner was very good as was breakfast. When we checked out I handed my car keys to the receptionist and pointed to my car asking is it alright just there? It was in a disabled spot with the blue badge on display. She replied 'Yes, it would be fine right there. Our taxi was punctual both to take us to the ship and pick us up when we returned. Upon our return I went to pick up my car keys and received a damn good rollicking from the same receptionist that I had handed my keys to! She embarrassed me in front of other clients (showing just who was in charge!) saying I should not have parked my car where I did as it could have been a fire hazard (Eh?!). Obviously, she had had a bad morning and I suffered for it, either that ot PMT ! Despite this I would certainly reccomend the place and would have given it five stars but for that one lady.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ellington Lodge at the Concorde Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellington Lodge at the Concorde Club

Address: Stoneham Lane, Eastleigh SO50 9HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Eastleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Eastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellington Lodge at the Concorde Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Ellington Lodge at the Concorde Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellington Lodge At The Concorde Club Hotel Eastleigh
Ellington Hotel At The Concorde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellington Lodge at the Concorde Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.