We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab little Thai!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Special Thai Restaurant

Special Thai Restaurant
23 Central Precinct, Winchester Road | Chandlers Ford, Eastleigh SO53 2GA, England
+(44)2380 266830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 87 Restaurants in Eastleigh
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab little Thai!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visited this fab little restaurant on a Sunday night so it was very quiet, especially being right after xmas and new year. We ordered between 4 of us a selection of starters and mains and I can honestly say that there was not one thing that we disliked. All the food was well cooked and amazingly tasty, and it was so good that we even decided to try a couple of their desserts which again we could not fault!! Overall this was a great little find, it may not look a lot from the outside but I can definitely say that it is well worth a visit (we are already planning to go back very soon!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    1
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otterbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Outstanding Christmas Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Christmas lunch for 20 people from our office. Great food. Great service. Good value for money. It is a pleasure to eat in a family run restaurant, where the staff are genuinely happy to serve you (or very good actors!). We would happily recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes food, and we will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You know it's good when Thai people eat there...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

What makes this place very special is that not only is it run by a genuine Thai family but the chef is Thai as well and has worked at major restaurants in the UK and Thailand. This means you get authentic Thai food with lovely Thai service.

The true test is if Thai people eat there! Generally Thai food in the UK is nothing like what you find in Thailand but this is an exception.

It's only the second time my wife has really enjoyed Thai food from a UK Thai restaurant. The first time was also at this same establishment!

I would defiantly recommend it to people who have never tried Thai food or Thai food aficionados.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“birthday visit 14 dec 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The host family are wonderful. Mama (Ann) from South Thailand (Chumporn) greeted us and spent the whole evening with us, chatting with my gf who is also from the South. Warm family atmosphere and we just loved the sculpted vegetable flowers. Weren't sure what they were made from--swede, it turns out! Proper genuine Thai food, not generic British Thai food. The gaeng ba jungle curry was full of all the right mixed up ingredients: bamboo, mushroom, and in this case seafood. Very spicy and fresh: three chili signs indicating hot and it was.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a really good restaurant I have ever been to, from the food to the service as well as value for money. If you want to try some authentic Thai food, i would highly recommend this restaurant. It will be always one of my first choices if I want to eat out with my friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Special Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Special Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Special Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.