We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food without the greasy spoons!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Cafe Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Point Cafe Bar
Leigh Road, Eastleigh SO50 9DE, England
02380 652 333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 87 Restaurants in Eastleigh
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Good quality locally sourced cuisine at very reasonable prices within a theatre and art gallery setting. Pre-show meals available as well as light lunches, sandwiches and soups, from 10am to 2pm. A delicious range of Mozzo coffees, teas and scrumptious cakes coupled with free Wifi and striking architecture.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food without the greasy spoons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a theatre cafe bar which serves lunches. It has a really lovely, friendly feel and the food is nicely prepared. Reading the negative point below my first thought was how great it is that this theatre is obviously so busy - good on them! They have a lovely deck which you can have lunch on in the summer and the prices are very reasonable. It also has a nice ambiance before shows when having a drink in the foyer. They have homemade cakes and really good coffee without having to line the pockets of the evil tax dodging coffee companies!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good quality, tasty food. Very slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This place is definitely worth a shot and is better than most lunch offerings in Eastleigh. The food is of a very high quality and the cakes are delicious. Prices are quite steep but... You get what you pay for! The only thing letting this place down is the slow service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch & amazing fresh baked cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently discovered this really nice place for lunch in Eastleigh. The dining area is light, spacious and quiet. The menu is simple but offers a good choice. For the main course we chose ham, eggs, chips with salad and a baked potato filled with vegetarian Chilli, also served with a salad, and for dessert a slice of the freshly baked "chocolate meltdown cake" and flapjacks served with fresh coffee. The food was delicious and had a real "homemade" taste to it. The staff were friendly and the service fine. We have since been there a second time and it was just as good :) I happened to notice that just outside The Point there are some parking spaces for disabled people and I remember thinking how handy this place would be for them.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small but perfectly formed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I used to meet here regularly for a spot of lite lunch and coffee with my friend for the best part of several years. Altough I haven't been in recent few months it's always been a great little 'secret' place to get a fine cup of coffee (and a sneaky cake).

The cafe bar is in the middle of the theater building which is quite stunning inside and also benefits from outside seating in the newly moedernised park. It's very much an 'arty' place but perfect for a tranquil sit down with the paper - or like myself, a great place to meet friend where you can have a proper chat.

It's also worth mentioning that while there you can book to see some great 'cult' films at The Point Theatre

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Understaffed bottle bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A quiet place to have a cup of coffee in the day (if you happen to be there or are just passing) evening performances can put a strain on seating and service if well attended. The night I attended - a community production which was sold out - two serving staff attempted to deal with customers standing four deep at the bar. I wasn't served until the interval was over and had to take my drink into the auditorium with me. They ran out of change and plastic cups - did not try the food as there was no time to buy or consume it and nowhere to sit either.
The bar is just a bottle bar with a basic selection - only bitter on offer was bottled 'London Pride' - no local beers stocked or on draught.
I wouldn't reccomend this as a suitable venue for dining out - only useful if you actually happen to be attending a function at the point itself.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Cafe Bar also viewed

Eastleigh, Hampshire
Eastleigh, Hampshire
 

Been to The Point Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.