We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Saffron
39 High Street, Eastleigh, England
023 8061 2743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 98 Restaurants in Eastleigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

After booking here for my partners 30th on the recommendation of a friend , I really wasn't expecting it to be that great ! OMG !! AMAZING !!! Bes curry any of us have ever had ! I even dream about the food it was that good ! I will not go anywhere else again ! Jahmazing !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    21
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well worth a trip to Eastleigh for Saffron!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Simply the best Indian meal I've eaten in years. The last meal as memorable as this was some twenty five years ago in Glasgow. i like to venture into the country for meals rather than town centres but I'll be making an exception for Saffron. I've been to Indian restaurants with far better decor and location but this is more than compensated for by the food served here. I had a mild dish that was flavoursome, slightly sweet and creamy. It contrasted well with a hot dish that my friend picked. Despite being hot it still managed a marvelous array of flavours. The waiters made you feel very welcome and gave the place a good atmosphere. In terms of the food it beats other Indian restaurants I've visited in the area by a huge margin. I'm going to take my wife here - She's not a fan of Indian food but there's a good chance that Saffron could convert her!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I went here for a later night meal with friends. One of them is a head chef and very critical of the food he eats.
Great tasty dishes from start to finish and a recommended place from me.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent in all ways!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely amazing food and brilliant service. Always friendly and quick and cater to our needs :) always impressed when leaving and never hungry!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best curry house around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

we've been here 15-16 times and have always had a great curry and service

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Eastleigh, Hampshire
Eastleigh, Hampshire
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.