We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hurdles

The Hurdles
Brockbridge, Droxford SO32 3QT, England
01489 877451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Droxford
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

During the summer we had cycled the the old railway line and stopped for a drink in the heat of the day, we returned for Sunday lunch on a bright but cold December day as we thought the setting was nice and the reviews made it sound inviting . We booked our table for 12 noon so when we arrived the pace was empty .The staff were very helpful making a great start by being wheelchair friendly with my disabled daughter, the food was excellent with a fantastic menu will be returning very soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    36
    24
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“By far my favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Ate her again this week, lovely open fire, Christmas trees everywhere with friendly polite staff always a good start. Food as usual was excellent, with generous portions. Only comment this time my salmon was a little over cooked.. We're going back on Xmas eve and my mouth is already watering thinking about what to have next time. Other restaurants could take some tips from them.. Keep up the good work.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely atmosphere, friendly staff & excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I went for a meal and a few drinks with three friends. We had a table reserved in the bar for 9pm, the staff were very welcoming and attentive. The first impression is the open fireplace with sofas either side giving a homely warm feeling to the place. The service was efficient and friendly.The food was excellent. I will definitely return to the Hurdles in the not too distant future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went with a largish family of young children. Staff friendly and welcoming, no issues with the children at all. Food of good quality and really wasn't too expensive. Surrounded by some lovely countryside. The only significant downside for me was the lack of any real garden and parking was a bit interesting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Hurdles sets bar high for quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our first time at The Hurdles but I seriously doubt it will be our last. Having seen the reviews on this website we travelled with high expectations and I am happy to say we were not disappointed. We warmed to the place immediately on entering as there was a welcoming fire blazing in a nearby grate next to a couple of comfy looking sofas. We were greeted warmly and shown to our table. Having checked the menu we were spoilt for choice but eventually selected what we wanted, going for a couple of their sharing starters, the calves liver and the vegetarian risotto. In hindsight getting two of the sharing starters may have been a misake as, delicious though they were, they were definitely built to share and we were both quite full by the time we had finished. The bread, houmus, garlic and olives were particularly tasty. My wife had the calves liver and she found it excellent, cooked to perfection and all the accompaniements of high quality. I had the risotto which was again very tasty - a large quantity of goats cheese making it somewhat stickier than many risottos but excellent nonetheless. Even the coffees were of excellent quality and the creme brulee we shared as a pudding was very tasty. All in all we had a great lunch at The Hurdles and will happily be going back. There are too many things left on the menu that we wanted to try not to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hurdles also viewed

Droxford, Hampshire
Soberton, Hampshire
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to The Hurdles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hurdles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.