We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issues not fully resolved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dogmersfield Park | Chalky Lane, Dogmersfield RG27 8TD , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off On 3+ Nights!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dogmersfield
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
481 helpful votes 481 helpful votes
“Issues not fully resolved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights for a company event. On arrival there was no record of my name evn though details had been given to the hotel. I had about half hour wait then I was given a room for 1 night and had to move to another for the 2nd. It was quite large but with 2 single beds- one bed old have been much better but they did not have any available. It was very inconvenient having to change rooms- having to repack and not having anywhere to relax in for a few hours- and I had been told I would get a better room for the inconvenience. This did not happen- the only difference was that it had a king sized bed- but was otherwise identical. I asked reception about this but they did nothing about this and we're not overly helpful. The room was also not ready very early and I had to keep checking to see if it was ready as my mobile reception was awful and I did not have reception a lot of the time. The bathroom was large and the room had most things you needed- except tea making facilities that can be brought only on request.

The food was fine- the evening meal in the function room was fairly bland and some of the staff were not very helpful. Breakfast was fine and there was quite a bit of choice although some a la carte items were unavailable.
the grounds were pretty and it was nice to walk or cycle around. The gym was ok and never busy.

I won't return for leisure as I found the service rather lacking for a hotel of this standard. I realise that mistakes happen but it was not resolved very well and as a guest it was inconvenient. Staff did not seem to care either.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSHH, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties you encountered during your recent stay. It is important to us that our guests enjoy a positive experience and regret that this has not been the case for you. If you would like to discuss your comments with me personally, please feel free to contact me directly on the details below.

Kind Regards
Charlie Parker
General Manager
01252 853002
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    129
    43
    23
    10
See reviews for
186
267
22
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Really enjoyed this hotel, stayed with work. Service is second to none, they'll go to the ends of the earth to try to please you - especially regarding food, they ordered something in just for me, because I fancied it!!

Hotel decor is a little bit bland - but doesn't detract from it overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We recently had a family gathering here and it fulfilled all expectations. Very much up to the Four Seasons standards that we have experienced elsewhere (or better than some, see my review of the Palm Beach property).

Rooms are generously sized, even though the one we were allocated didn't have a view. A couple of teething troubles over room allocations did not mar the overall enjoyment and service levels were excellent. Food was also very good and although we didn't particularly focus on it, I liked the effort made to source food locally and emphaise the seasonality of the menus.

We also didn't use all the facilities on offer but would love to come back to have a go at the full range of activities on offer. That said, these activities do carry a Four Seasons premium (i.e. are expensive!!) but the quality of the instruction that we experienced meant that you did not feel ripped off.

All in all, an excellent stay, for all age groups. If only the Four Seasons service could be brough to bear on the weather - so much for 'Flaming June'.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the grounds, rahter than the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Beautiful location, great facility, attentive staff - restful and fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here just for one night on a Living Social deal, but oh how I wish it was longer!! Our deal was for a garden room, a bottle of wine and afternoon tea but to our surprise we got upgraded to the Grand Manor room. What a gorgeous room, spacious and with outstanding views over the countryside. We had lunch and cocktails in the bar. Excellent food, drinks and service. Our afternoon tea was in the library and was absolutely delightful. Again the food was delicous and the service excellent. We were too full up for a proper meal in the evening so just had cocktails on the terrace. The hotel has a dog called Ollie who is an absolute character and has free reign in the hotel and grounds. The children staying at the hotel loved him and my partner was also smitten!! Lovely comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom with a free standing bath in front of the window. Quite a novelty to lie in the bath and have a scenic view. Check out was quick and easy and made it even more difficult to leave. I can't wait to stay here again and I fully intend to take my mum for a spa weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Lovely grounds to cycle/dog walk, spa/gym facilities are good, bar is fun but the rest including the restaurants are bog standard large corporate hotel service/standard. The rooms are spacious but a little dated, as are the communal areas of the hotel. We had our dog with us, and bizarrely were in a Garden King Size room that was no where near a garden or an exit - getting the dog out for a quick 5 mins was a mini military operation around the corridors. The hotel restaurant was distinctly average and lacking atmosphere despite Jubilee celebrations in the rest of the country. The best bit about the stay were the wedding fireworks put on by the wedding that seemed to be the focus of the hotel this weekend.

Small boutique hotels and luxury inns will not be concerned about this over priced dinosaur.

Can't live with the likes of Barnsley, Cowley etc and if you want luxury head to Coworth Park. This simply is an overpriced corporate hotel for Americans and Central Europeans.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing your feedback. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expecations and that you found the hotel lacked atmosphere. We certainly work hard to provide a relaxed and enjoyable environment for all of our guests whilst offering an array of activities for guests to take part in if they wish to do so. I am, therefore, disappointed that you did not find this to be the case and take all feedback very seriously. If you would like to discuss your comments further, please do feel free to contaact me directly.
Best Regards
Charlie Parker
General Manager
01252 853002
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Have to review the Seasons restaurant, it has absolutely the best food out there.

Fantastic service by attentive wait team, and great wine choices from knowledgeable sommelier.

Had the seasons taster menu, it was to die for. Chef came out to see how it was. Couldn't recommend this place more if I tried. Pure class.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England

Address: Dogmersfield Park | Chalky Lane, Dogmersfield RG27 8TD , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Dogmersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dogmersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Four Seasons Hampshire England
Four Seasons Hook
Hook Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.