We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely unacceptable!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Barton Stacey

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Andover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Barton Stacey
Save
You added Travelodge Barton Stacey to your Saves list
A303 Westbound | Nr. Andover, Andover SO21 3NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Andover
1 review
“Completely unacceptable!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had one room booked as we would be passing on our way to Devon. Turned up around 8.30 to be told there was no room available, even though they had taken our money. The member of staff was rude saying he had phoned me lots of times, I had 2 missed calls and a message just asking if we were still coming. He gave us 2 options either go to another hotel or leave and wait for some one to contact us to arrange getting our money back. The nearest hotel with a room was 34 miles away, giving us an extra 68 miles on to our journey. I would not recommend this place at all, terrible sums it up. Newbury chiveley where we ended up was much better, and the members of staff were lovely and helped us out a lot. Travelodge redeemed themselves slightly when we complained otherwise would never recommend ever again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    17
    19
    18
See reviews for
24
23
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in a family room for one night. Manager begrudgingly changed our room because the first one reeked of damp, which the manager I insisted was normal for hotels of this age. Second room was better but was not cleaned to an acceptable standard. A brown fingerprint on the toilet pretty much sums it up. The adjoining Little Chef deserves it's nickname Little Thief. £7 for two bits of bacon and some eggs?! Not impressed at all. Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the seventh of twenty hotels (11 Travelodges, 8 Premier Inns and one other) used by my wife and myself on our tour of Wales and England in August 2013. We had pre-booked and pre-paid for all Travelodges and Premier Inns.

Location:
Very old building. Single storey. Mouldy smell in corridor. Lots of marks on corridor walls & door jambs.
Adjacent to Esso station (Expensive fuel)

Bedroom:
Large room at back of building.
Flat screen TV. Tea/ Coffee making facilities.
Several holes / marks on worktop (see photo 6205)
Ripped upholstery on arm of chair (see photo 6206)
Large scratch on wall paint work (see photo 6207)
One wall light not working (see photo 6209)
Very small pillows – Used bath towels to increase height
Bed somewhat on the hard side.

Bathroom:
Bath & Shower. 2 hand towels. 2 bath towels. No bath mat
Cracked blanking plate on wall (Safety hazard) (see photo 6210)
Chipped bath (see photo 6211)
Mould / dirt on tiles over bath area (see photos 6212 & 6214) - health hazard.

Assessment:
Cost £48. Far too expensive. Substandard. Corridor & Room shabby. Bathroom unacceptable condition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

£29 a night for family room. Clean and comfortable enough..... But very tired, particularly the bathroom, staff were friendly. Attached Little Chef very poor.
Probably what we should expect for the price!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here while attending Carfest 2013 - better than camping! Reasonable standard of accommodation as always with Travelodge. Staff helpful and room clean. Bathroom a bit tired and toilet refused to flush properly, but otherwise OK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent 2 nights here and had nothing to complain about. Good value. Staff were very helpful in suggesting a better route to where we wanted to go. Also recommended a visit to the Museum of the Iron Age in Andover which proved to be a great hit with our friend's 4 & 5 year olds - a little gem of a museum.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip as availability in Andover was poor however I wouldn't stay here again as there is better accomodation available further out of Andover. The room had been adequately cleaned but the bathroom was dirty, mouldy shower curtain, hipped and mouldy baths and a badly stained toilet.
The worst part of the whole experience was the road noise, I was assured that it significantly reduced at about 11pm but it didn't and it was one of the hottest days of the year so the choice was to sit in airless scruffy room watching a tv with limited free view channels or listen to traffic roaring past.

Room Tip: If possible get a room at the back of the hotel to reduce the problems with road noise-but it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Barton Stacey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Barton Stacey

Address: A303 Westbound | Nr. Andover, Andover SO21 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Travelodge Barton Stacey Hotel Andover
Travelodge Andover
Travel Lodge Andover
Andover Travel Lodge
Andover Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Barton Stacey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.