We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunchtime meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Poplar Farm

Poplar Farm
Old Salisbury Rd | Abbotts Anne, Andover SP11 7NJ, England
01264 710 424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 95 Restaurants in Andover
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lunchtime meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The pub looks lovely and it has a cosy atmosphere, we had a nice table and the menu looked great, i had eaten here before for a family sunday lunch and could not fault anything, Sadly on this lunch time mid week visit the food let the pub down on presentation and quality. It appeared they were either short staffed of run by inexperienced staff, i hope this was a one off let down as i would like to try visiting again in the future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    42
    31
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Visited today for the first time whilst visiting family in Andover. We went at lunchtime and chose from the set price menu. We found the atmosphere very pleasant and the staff friendly and attentive. The food was enjoyable. The roaring fire was a nice touch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing starter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice pub,ordered stater of battered mushrooms.When ordered received 5 mushrooms on one piece of lettuce and teaspoon of garlic sauce,served on a large plate and was totally disappointed with it.Spoke to member of staff who agreed that it was not exactly a lot for what we paid.Main course was good and female staff were good,food was good but need to sort out above starter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sloooooooooooow Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

It took 1hr 40 mins to serve us two courses. It goes without saying that is far too slow. Management take note, employ more staff. I won't be eating here again due to the inconvenience of having to wait for the food. I'd like to point out that the pub wasn't busy when we ate.

I can not fault the food though. When the waitress found time to take our order and bring it out to us it was very nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Ive been to the pub quite a few times for a drink and it's great even though it is aimed at the restaurant side. The food for me has been hit and miss from a cheap pub food to great mid week steak nights. For example when it says homemade chips I don't expect them to clearly be frozen chunky chips. The taste is just not the same. You can tell when the chef has put the effort in here but I think sometimes it's that busy it's just about getting the food out and money in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poplar Farm also viewed

Andover, Hampshire
Andover, Hampshire
 
Goodworth Clatford, Andover
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to Poplar Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poplar Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.