We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful waitress, mouldy food and stroppy condescending manager” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The John Russell Fox

The John Russell Fox
10 High Street, Andover, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 82 Restaurants in Andover
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Dessert, Vegetarian, British, Fish & Chips
Description: JD Wetherspoon establishment located in the middle of Andover. Serving breakfast from 07:00-12:00 daily, a wide range of meals from 07:00-23:00 and a vast selection of drinks from 09:00-00:00 daily.
Restaurant details
Description: JD Wetherspoon establishment located in the middle of Andover. Serving breakfast from 07:00-12:00 daily, a wide range of meals from 07:00-23:00 and a vast selection of drinks from 09:00-00:00 daily.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Helpful waitress, mouldy food and stroppy condescending manager”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Went to Wetherspoons for pint and meal, thinking good pub grub.
Instead my wife got mouldy tomatoes on her chilli spud. The waitress was helpful, but Mr Manager was stroppy and condescending and forgot to apologise for his cooking staff negligence. We won't be returning soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    5
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Vege”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Have been in this weatherspoons on many occasions visited with a friend and my partner for a lunch it was quite busy being a Sunday friend is a vegetarian some times a bit restricted on what to eat I decided on gourmet chicken burger (no chicken breasts available) partner had the Mexican dog and friend decided on Mexican veg burger I also had this we only waited about 15 minutes it arrived and hot and looked good my friend said it was best veg burger she had ever had and I have to agree we all enjoyed our food
I have to say I prefer the sauce in bottles it's better than sachets

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Cold Paninis (cheese not even melted) cold toastie don't even think they'd put any cheese in. Screaming kids and swearing adults. The only good thing was the staff who were very good. Unfortunately, won't be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another poor visit :-(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Having used this venue for Breakfast over a 2 year period, I think we will finally give up visiting it. We used to get a good breakfast, hot and tasty, but over the past few months weve had to complain about under cooked eggs, cold beans to name but a few................. Yesterday's visit will be our last, the food took 35 mins to appear, why ? (didn't seem that busy tho) and it was cold except the hash browns................ My Sister couldn't even be bothered to tell them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Pub/restaurant is a tad soulless, but the value and service made up for it.There was a special deal for chicken dishes and both of our meals were plentiful with tender chicken.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The John Russell Fox also viewed

 
Andover, Hampshire
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to The John Russell Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The John Russell Fox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.