We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant day for children and adults” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawk Conservancy

Hawk Conservancy
Sarson Lane | Weyhill, Andover SP11 8DY, England
+44 1264 773850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Andover
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hawk Conservancy Trust is a conservation charity and award winning visitor centre that operates in the fields of conservation, education, rehabilitation and research of birds of prey. Set in 22 acres of woodland and wildflower meadow, there are over 150 birds of prey on view, from the tiny Pygmy Owl to the impressive Steller's Sea Eagles! Many of these birds are involved in the spectacular daily flying demonstrations, whilst others are part of important breeding or environmental enrichment projects. Every visitor can hold a British bird of prey and there are extra activities during weekends and school holidays for the younger visitors.
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A brilliant day for children and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

What a great way to spend a day! We visited with adult children and very young grandchildren, and all had a very enjoyable and memorable time.

The enthusiasm and love the Staff have for their birds was very evident, and they welcomed the opportunity to share their knowledge.

Our concerns that a three-year old might be bored were proved wrong. The variety of flying displays was well paced throughout the day, and there was plenty to keep the children occupied.

With a picnic area and an indoor café (good value), this is a good and easy family day out. Facilities were good and Staff were helpful with heating baby-food and storing buggies etc.

The two of us are looking to visiting again, without the youngsters next time but equipped with binoculars and better camera equipment, and we anticipate a very educational and rewarding day.

Excellent value for money, educational, entertaining and fun – a brilliant day out and highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    58
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Must See Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I took my 2 eldest grandchildren to the Hawk Conservancy on a Saturday and we arrived around 13.30 and was warmly greeted by receptionist and got our tickets (£39.50) for 2 adults & 2 children. We walked around & saw amazing birds, from Tiny owls to massive vultures and at 14.00 we went to the show whereby there were all sorts of different flying above our heads and taking food from the trainers and the show was brilliant, the grandchildren were full of chat about all the different birds that were flying up close to us and they were amazed. we walked all over the area and saw so many different species and took so many photos. We stopped for tea & cake at the café (quite expensive) and spent the rest of the afternoon watching shows and taking photos.
this is a must do if you want to keep the children happy. we spent a good 4 hours so it was money well spent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We go to the Hawk conservancy every year, during one of the May Bank Holidays. Always a good day out with good, informative flying displays. They change elements of the displays frequently so good for repeat visits

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into hawks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Hawk Conservancy offers a real insight into a fascinating world. The displays are extremely enjoyable and professionally done. I took my parents and my children there, and everyone enjoyed the day enormously, as it appeals to all ages.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Second visit - just as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had such lovely memories of our first trip to the Hawk Conservancy we were hoping the second would be just as good. It was.

You must get there early to see all the displays and shows. There is time in between each to wander around and have lunch.

The main show in the morning is great - lots of low flying birds & the kids really like the surprise race at the end. Sadly, the Secretary bird was not on display that day. We look forward to her being well enough to be shown on out next visit.

The later show in the amphitheatre is spectacular - more low flying birds and the majestic soaring majesty of the American Bald Eagles flying above. Amazing.

They seem to have a new'ish cafe that looked well used and frankly smelled lovely but we had bought a picnic so I cannot comment on price. The specials onthe board looked reasonable though.

You can really spend the whole day here so plan your time well - not the place for a fleeting visit. We also thought it was good value for money considering you can spend the whole day and the family ticket was under £40 I think.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawk Conservancy also viewed

Andover, Hampshire
Ashurst, New Forest National Park
 
Ashurst, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Hawk Conservancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawk Conservancy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.