We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House

Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House to your Saves list
Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Upper Neatham Mill Lane | Holybourne, Alton GU34 4EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Alton B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My second stay here, both on business. I couldn't fault the stay. Rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed. The host was welcoming and attentive and the breakfast set me up for the day. Well done.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
22
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very good place, next to the village and its restaurants. A good pub at few steps.
The near A31 traffic doesn't disturb your relax. Easy and free parking.
Glen is a very kind and availlable person.
Room was quite big, clean, well furnished. Bathroom with big shower but noisy and boring fan. confortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A group of us stayed here the night before my sisters wedding (including the bride to be!)

Me and my partner stayed in an executive suite as did my aunt in another. Then my sister and her bridesmaid had a twin. Only a double bed which was a little disappointing (especially when 8 months pregnant and sharing with a 6 foot plus 17 stone man!) But I will say the sheets were of excellent quality and mattress was also clearly a very good quality one! We all slept very well. The rooms were small ish but extremely clean and well furnished with an amazing shower.

Breakfast was quite small but it was more than enough for us, even my very hungry partner! Owner offered more toast and was happy to bring anything we wanted.

I really cannot rate the service highly enough.... I genuinely felt that nothing was too much for him.

The b+b itself is set in the most wonderful surroundings... sadly we didn't have time to enjoy it but it looked absolutely lovely.

I would definitely return if I needed to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Amazing, amazing amazing. Could not have asked for a better way to end the last two weeks of our six weeks stay in England from Australia, than with the warm generosity and superb treatment received by Glen and his family. I'm in two minds to actually put this in writing, because I'd love to keep this place a secret, but if you want the best of everything stay here. I'll never forget our experience, and this place was advised to us by family and friends who had also had the pleasure of staying whilst visiting from Australia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed there from 11th nov to 16th lovely quite surrounds and a quailty barn conversion no expense spared very comfortable bed nice large shower .everything is eco friendly log burner for all the heating and water.Breakfast is very good quality and he bakes his own bread.Glen is a very pleasant guy who will make your stay very pleasent.
overall would stay again and would recommend his place highly to anyone who likes the finer things in life.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at Upper Neatham Mill Farm, what a lovely setting! A friendly welcome, a warm comfortable, modern room, excellent food (delicious homemade bread) and a helpful, knowledgeable host. Well placed for visiting Alton, Jane Austen's house at Chawton and Winchester. Thanks Glen, for a lovely peaceful break and the information on cider making.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Upper Neatham Mill Farm for two nights as we were attending a friend's wedding in Alton and it was ideal. The setting was quiet and very peaceful. We particularly appreciated the environmentally friendly nature and the ethos behind the place. It was just a nice distance outside of the market town, enough to clear your head after a few drinks of an evening!

The cooked breakfasts were excellent, and the freshly pressed apple juice from the farm's orchard was very tasty. Good quality sausages, perfectly cooked scrambled eggs and friendly chat if you wanted it (there was no pressure if you didn't want to chat!).

Without prompt, local eating establishments were recommended (altough we weren't especially impressed with the Thai restaurant that was suggested) and the host's local knowledge was clearly very good.

The room was spacious and it was exceptionally clean. Blackout blinds were welcomed and the bed was really very comfortable.

All in all, this is a fantastic b&b and one that we would whole heartedly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House

Address: Upper Neatham Mill Lane | Holybourne, Alton GU34 4EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Silver award Converted 17th-century barn accommodation. Tranquil location on the river Wey in Holybourne, surrounded by 11 acres of private gardens and woodland however only 1 mile north of Alton centre. All rooms en-suite, furnished to exceptional standards having antique furniture, luxury bedding, modern facilities with wireless broadband available. Catering for executive business and tourism with friendly yet professional attention to detail. Walking and cycling friendly. Environmentally friendly with 100% carbon neutral Central heating & Hot water generated from renewable fuels grown on the farm. Spacious free floodlit off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Neatham Mill Farm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.